PMS not limiting bandwidth?

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

PMS not limiting bandwidth?

Postby fairyliquid » Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:26 pm

Hi, im having a problem with network bandwidth i think which is causing stuttering. Hope someone can help me out.

I have transcoding settings at...
keyint=1:vqscale=1:vqmin=1 /* Lossless Quality, Crazy Bitrate */

and

Maximum bandwidth set to 90

but yet when streaming the bitrate stays over 100000kbps peaking at around 140000kbps

Am i missing something obvious here? How come its not limiting it to 90000 or there abouts?

edit:
also specs are...
cpu is AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3.01GHz
1.75GB ram available to windows xp
100Mbps ethernet connection with a speedtouch 585v6 router

thanks
fairyliquid
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 11:07 pm

Re: PMS not limiting bandwidth?

Postby jaqb » Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:44 pm

Have you tried latest revision 350 ? It includes my fix for the bug related to bandwidth limiting... Download the latest build from here. I'm very curious if this has solved you issue. Please report back.
HD YouTube on PS3 -> PS3 Youtube :D Are you a F1 fan ? Check out F1Reader.com
jaqb
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:50 am

Re: PMS not limiting bandwidth?

Postby fairyliquid » Sat Jul 18, 2009 10:51 am

Hi there, ive upgraded to the latest version as you recomended (1.11.350)

sadly though it still seems the same.

The transcoding buffer fills up and watching cpu usage on task manager it never really goes above 70%

the test file ive been using is a 30 second clip Casino.Royale.BDRip.180p.SPLIT-004.mkv

Limit bandwidth is set to 90
ive tried various options from the transcode folder for it
AVISynth/FFmpeg i get dolby digital 5.1 but the MPEG-2 runs at around 240Mbps
AVISynth/Mencoder didnt work just now but now ive tried it i get 5.1 and it peaks at 50Mbps
Mencoder & TSMuxer play fine but no sound

So how is it not limiting the bandwidth when im using AVISynthFFmpeg?

also i tried changing the transcode settings to keyint=1:vqscale=1:vqmin=1 *Best Quality* but oddly that made no difference at all so now im totally confused!
fairyliquid
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 11:07 pm

Re: PMS not limiting bandwidth?

Postby shagrath » Sun Jul 19, 2009 12:34 pm

fairyliquid wrote:Hi there, ive upgraded to the latest version as you recomended (1.11.350)

sadly though it still seems the same.

The transcoding buffer fills up and watching cpu usage on task manager it never really goes above 70%

the test file ive been using is a 30 second clip Casino.Royale.BDRip.180p.SPLIT-004.mkv

Limit bandwidth is set to 90
ive tried various options from the transcode folder for it
AVISynth/FFmpeg i get dolby digital 5.1 but the MPEG-2 runs at around 240Mbps
AVISynth/Mencoder didnt work just now but now ive tried it i get 5.1 and it peaks at 50Mbps
Mencoder & TSMuxer play fine but no sound

So how is it not limiting the bandwidth when im using AVISynthFFmpeg?

also i tried changing the transcode settings to keyint=1:vqscale=1:vqmin=1 *Best Quality* but oddly that made no difference at all so now im totally confused!


try keyint=25:vqscale=1:vqmin=2
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 10 guests