{option} CoveAVC + CUDA vs. high end CPU

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

{option} CoveAVC + CUDA vs. high end CPU

Postby papaTRIX » Fri Jul 10, 2009 5:33 pm

hi > just curious on what people thought about using (CoveAVC + CUDA) vs. (high end CPU) when using ps3ms. i'm currently using an intel i7 oc-ed @ 4Ghz, 12Gb ram, geforce gtx 280 on win7 x64 7100 and have had no issues thus far, even though my cpu usage goes sky high. post on coveavc + cuda got me wondering if i should try it.
ps3ms @ 1.50.0 (b2) :: gigabit lan :: (i7 920 @ 4Ghz | 12G ram | geforce gtx 280) w7u sp1 x64
User avatar
papaTRIX
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 5:02 pm
Location: Orlando, Fl. USA

Re: {option} CoveAVC + CUDA vs. high end CPU

Postby otmanix » Fri Jul 10, 2009 5:43 pm

If you don't have a cpu bottleneck yet there's no benefit... You may save some energy but you have to spend some dollars for coreavc...
I provide NO application support via PM, so please post your question to the forum.
PS3 Media Server related articles on my blog: http://otmanix.de/?cat=11&lang=en
User avatar
otmanix
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:40 am
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Re: {option} CoveAVC + CUDA vs. high end CPU

Postby jharry » Sat Jul 11, 2009 6:00 am

well in your case you can try both, but you gota update the nvidia drivers to the latest and spend some cash for coreavc like otmanix said.

I must say though coreavc + cuda = much less cpu usage
jharry
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:43 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 12 guests