CAT5 PC to PS3

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Re: CAT5 PC to PS3

Postby zomgheals » Sat Jul 04, 2009 12:32 pm

PC is connected to router via wireless, making a switch 100% useless.

I thought i said PC connected via wireless, guess not.

Current setup = USB Wireless adapter is connected to router. Then my ethernet card is connected to ps3.

maybe this can help
zomgheals
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:56 am

Re: CAT5 PC to PS3

Postby bahamot » Sat Jul 04, 2009 1:32 pm

If you don't want to use crossover cable, then your only option is to buy a switch and a LAN cable. But if switch is also prohibited, then try turn your PC into AP.

You can try these:
- http://oob.freeshell.org/nzwireless/LWAP-HOWTO.html
- http://www.hpl.hp.com/personal/Jean_Tourrilhes/Linux/
- http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Documentation/hostapd
But it needs Linux, if you can't install linux, then you'll need to find the equivalent for Windows.
bahamot
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:02 am

Re: CAT5 PC to PS3

Postby zomgheals » Sat Jul 04, 2009 1:54 pm

a switch isnt going to do anything...

and crossover isnt needed if a normal CAT5 works :|
zomgheals
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:56 am

Re: CAT5 PC to PS3

Postby bahamot » Sat Jul 04, 2009 2:09 pm

Here's how it's going to work with switch:
Code: Select all
router
    |
    | wifi
    |
   PC--------switch----------PS3
bahamot
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:02 am

Re: CAT5 PC to PS3

Postby zomgheals » Sat Jul 04, 2009 2:19 pm

what exactly is that going to do...
zomgheals
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:56 am

Re: CAT5 PC to PS3

Postby bahamot » Sat Jul 04, 2009 2:23 pm

That allow you to stream from PC to PS3. The PC and PS3 are connected together through switch.
bahamot
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:02 am

Re: CAT5 PC to PS3

Postby zomgheals » Sat Jul 04, 2009 2:55 pm

i can already stream from pc to ps3 with a cat5 cable... why would i go out and buy a switch and another cat5 cable... it seems pointless
zomgheals
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:56 am

Re: CAT5 PC to PS3

Postby ExSport » Sat Jul 04, 2009 3:32 pm

Not so pointless because you will be able to use internet also in this case ;)
If you connect PC->PS3 with cable, you will loose internet connection to PS3(if you don't share internet on PC) but with switch you will be able use internet also in case of PC will be OFF.
But I suppose your router is not faulty but your WIFI connection is poor, maybe noisy environment....try to use another channel on router to stabilize connection and avoid dropouts.
Also I suppose that you can connect PC->PS3 directly via WIFI in AD-HOC mode (sometihing like client-client, not AP-client). Don't know if PS3 supports it...
ExSport
 
Posts: 2167
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: CAT5 PC to PS3

Postby bahamot » Sat Jul 04, 2009 4:23 pm

I didn't see AD-HOC mode on PS3 WLAN ... but maybe I missed it.
bahamot
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:02 am

Re: CAT5 PC to PS3

Postby zomgheals » Sat Jul 04, 2009 4:27 pm

wifi isnt poor, it's the router.

I've done searches about it and 90% of stuff is drop outs etc.

you are changing the direction... which is getting annoying.

I can connect PS3 to PC PERFECTLY fine, it even has internet (using a standard CAT5 cable)

If the PC drops from router (3-4 times a day) the PS3 will also drop from the PC thus cutting off a connection for transcoding.
I WANT to use cable for best quality / 1080p etc.

the PROBLEM i want fixed is, if pc drops from router, to make sure that ps3 and pc are still connected, that is all.

please stop assuming and changing stuff, stick on topic, if you DO NOT know the answer to this, simply do not reply.
zomgheals
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:56 am

PreviousNext

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 16 guests