Bandwith settings - updated, illustrated

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Bandwith settings - updated, illustrated

Postby thenightfly » Mon Jun 29, 2009 4:57 pm

Firsly : I'm a noob for this appz! :)

I've read some bandwitch settings, and I think that is the key for my problem.
I've wired 1000 Mbit switch between my PS & my PC.
My PC 2.6 Ghz QUAD Core, 4Gigz of RAM,and 7950GT, and 1500GB Seagate HDD with 32MB of cache. ( I think that's a quite nice sys.) but my 1080p's movies sometimes cause some buffer ovewflow.
info bar: 190 - 250 MBit/sec

Where, and how can set up this appz to use my 1000Mbit bandw.?

OK, let's see some detailed information:

1. CPU: Intel Q6600 Quad Core @ 2.66 Ghz RAM: 4GB 800 Mhz Kingmax DDRII PS3 Media Server 1.10.51 OS: Windows Vista SP2 x64 ENG
2. Gigabit ethernet connection + CAT 5e cables (endpoint <10 meters from 3Com switch) + 1 WIFI Router (only 1 port active for uplink to 3Com)
3. those .mkv files are slow which has real 1920*1080 pixel resolution, and lots of colours. for exaple: PlanetEarth.EP01.2006.1080p.HDDVD.x264.DUAL-Anonymous.mkv
the bandwith usage goes up to 400 Mbit /sec
4. I'm using this settings:
Image Image
5. small recorded video about the issue:
Code: Select all
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ethVWEIhFDk
thenightfly

Re: Bandwith settings - updated, illustrated

Postby otmanix » Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:56 pm

You are streaming a transcoded hd-video (MPG2 is shown in the video). In complex scenes the bitrate gets very high. When the PS3 doesn't get enough data from your pc it shows wrong information / bullshit (up to 400Mb/s). The reason for that behaviour is that your network and/or your cpu has reached its limit.