Help with M2TS files says data corrupted...

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Help with M2TS files says data corrupted...

Postby wm_cheng » Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Hi all,

I'm new to backing up my BD but would like to store them on my HDD for streaming via PS3MS just like my DVDs. I've extracted the M2TS files with DD5.1 audio only. I thought the PS3 supports M2TS. It plays back fine on my computer via WMP, but when I access it on my PS3, it says data corrupt. I can watch it if I choose it in the #--transcode--# folder, just not the native file. What format should it be in? It plays 1080p MKV files perfectly, should I convert my M2TS files to MKV files? It would be nice to not loose any quality. What is the best file format to have for PS3MS?

Thanks,
Wm
wm_cheng

Re: Help with M2TS files says data corrupted...

Postby shagrath » Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:10 pm

m2ts are mostly well supported on the ps3, I don't know why your particular file will not play.. maybe you can post detailed infos on this video with mediainfo?
shagrath
Project Lead

Postby ecn113 » Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:32 am

VC1 encoding maybe?
ecn113

Postby ExSport » Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:50 pm

ecn113 wrote:VC1 encoding maybe?

I heard that newest 2.76 version supports VC-1 directly from XMB including DTS.....but didn't tested it.
Last edited by ExSport on Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ExSport

Postby Smeezy101 » Tue Jun 23, 2009 7:41 pm

ExSport wrote:
ecn113 wrote:VC1 encoding maybe?

I heard that newes 2.76 version supports VC-1 directly from XMB including DTS.....but didn't tested it.

Do you mean streamed (not transcoded) from a PC to the XMB? Or do you mean copied to the PS3 and played from there?
Smeezy101

Postby ExSport » Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:20 pm

When saved on PS3 disk or from external source as usbkey or external disk, don't know exactly...
ExSport