How to set up PMS?

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Re: How to set up PMS?

Postby j2048b » Sun Jan 25, 2009 10:51 pm

shagrath wrote:
Skip loop filter will give you better quality of h264, but more CPU load.


actually it's the opposite :)
skiploopfilter is not recommended, unless you have a crappy machine and want 720p nonetheless



with my current details would my machine be considered crappy:

dell dimension 9100
2 gb ram
1 tb external wd
1 internal wd 500
150 internal wd
pentium d dual cor at 2.8 ghz
verizon westell 327 w router/modem (dsl)
160 gb (newest edition ) ps3
Playon (for hulu and netflix) Works very well
lg blue ray/hd-dvd reader/ normal dvd writer
1080i mitzubishi 46' projector tv

would this be considered crappy?

not sure since it is a few years older?
j2048b
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: How to set up PMS?

Postby ExSport » Sun Jan 25, 2009 10:56 pm

j2048b: I answered your questions but more comprehensive info you can find on the net(mencoder/mplayer page/forums)
If you will read more about these parameters, you will exactly know what settings suits you. But it is more about testing until you find optimal settings :)
I didn't read what these params exactly do but keyint is selfexplaining, keyint=5 will create keyframe every 5 frames, keyint=1 means every frame is keyframe=better seeking but bigger stream and needs more CPU time for encoding...
BR
EDIT:
And your specs suits you for not ticked "skip deblocking..." = higher quality....surely for 720p. if 1080p video will shutter, it is the first option to where you will go to tick it ON(skip deblocking) if it helps;-)
ExSport
 
Posts: 2167
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: How to set up PMS?

Postby j2048b » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:02 pm

ExSport wrote:j2048b: I answered your questions but more comprehensive info you can find on the net(mencoder/mplayer page/forums)
If you will read more about these parameters, you will exactly know what settings suits you. But it is more about testing until you find optimal settings :)
I didn't read what these params exactly do but keyint is selfexplaining, keyint=5 will create keyframe every 5 frames, keyint=1 means every frame is keyframe=better seeking but bigger stream and needs more CPU time for encoding...
BR



thanks, i appreciate the help, but all this is a foreign language to me... so the higher the keyint the less cpu it uses?

wow this stuff needs to just have a scanner built into it as an extra so we untech people can just scan for our settings and let PMS decide what the best options would be :) :D :P :mrgreen: :idea:
j2048b
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: How to set up PMS?

Postby ExSport » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:25 pm

Seems to me that your english is good and all info about mencoder parameters are in english 8-)
But other parameters(vqscale=3;vqmin=5) are more sensitive on CPU load and on quality;-) key interval have less quality/performance drop/gain than other params ;)
ExSport
 
Posts: 2167
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: How to set up PMS?

Postby j2048b » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:32 pm

Thanks exsport!!

i do speak good english at least thats what my teachers tell me :D here in America!

Anyways i will do some better reaserch for myself...

any way anyone can explain this to me though:


All my movies show up as avc, and WILL NOT PLAY WITH VS 1.03

but in all other versions they show up as mpeg 2 and play.

what is going on?
j2048b
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: How to set up PMS?

Postby j2048b » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:34 pm

also wondering if zonealarm internet security could be holding my system back as far as wi fi and stuff?
j2048b
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: How to set up PMS?

Postby shagrath » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:39 pm

j2048b wrote:any way anyone can explain this to me though:
All my movies show up as avc, and WILL NOT PLAY WITH VS 1.03


could be anything... major bug or something totally independent of pms... the other day a guy send me a mail stating the new version wasn't working...
he has just forgot to tell he had installed vmware just before and mess up with its network configuration, so...
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: How to set up PMS?

Postby j2048b » Mon Jan 26, 2009 1:54 am

shagrath wrote:
j2048b wrote:any way anyone can explain this to me though:
All my movies show up as avc, and WILL NOT PLAY WITH VS 1.03


could be anything... major bug or something totally independent of pms... the other day a guy send me a mail stating the new version wasn't working...
he has just forgot to tell he had installed vmware just before and mess up with its network configuration, so...



it is just really weird because in version 1 it shows them all as mpeg 2 and they all play, mybe there is something clicked that should not be in version 1.03 for my set up?

I dont understand why me mp4's would should as avc, when they are not avc?

Thanks

J
j2048b
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: How to set up PMS?

Postby j2048b » Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:18 am

if i remember right, i ran both verson 1 and version 1.0.3 and saw that if i did not have avisynth/ffmpeg and avisynth/MEncoder installed and working then every thing shows up as AVC formats and do not play...

correct me if i am wrong?

i might be but don't believe so...


also wondering why those were not integrated this version as they were in the past?
j2048b
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: How to set up PMS?

Postby Joksi » Mon Jan 26, 2009 1:14 pm

Avisynth isnt included, but FFMpeg and MEncoder is
Joksi
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:32 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests