Connection Issues etc

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Connection Issues etc

Postby rozel » Sun May 10, 2009 1:33 pm

Hi I am a noob so please go slowly :-)

Sometimes I find it difficult to connect: -

PS3MS version - 1.10.625
Quad Q6600 @2.4 ghz - 4Gb Ram
Vista Ultimate - 64-bit
I am using a Wired Ethernet Connection - should be a gigabit connection but only seems able to connect at 100Mbits - is this something to do with the PS3 ?

Once connected all seems fine - 1080p DTS .mkv files play superbly!

However I seem to have to fiddle about before the PS3 finds all the folders where the files are.

As well as having an additional drive installed within my pc, I also have an external drive and a Nas drive

Can I ask a few questions please?

1. In what order should I turn everything on - pc, then PS3 then PS3MS ?
2. How long should I then wait before I trying to find files on my PS3? More often than not I get DNLA errors (I'm not sure what those mean) and I have to resort to turning everything off and back on - when you want to watch a film, this can get frustrating, but after a few minutes PS3MS finds the PS3 and to play safe I then wait 5 minutes before finding files - is this normal ? Just now I quit PS3MS and turned it back on only for it NOT to find the PS3! Usually a restart or power down and power up sorts this but why is this necessary?
3. How can you quickly go to a point in a film, say 45 mins in? I am aware you can do this but not sure how
4. I have sorted out my Power saving settings - I noticed that when it went to sleep, the film froze! but today the PS3MS program has shut down by itself twice ? - any thoughts ?

I hope some of you out there can answer my questions, particularly those relating to my connection issues

Cheers

roz
rozel

Re: Connection Issues etc

Postby meskibob » Sun May 10, 2009 3:44 pm