"Data is Corrupted" when playing MPEG2 files

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

"Data is Corrupted" when playing MPEG2 files

Postby griffins » Sat May 09, 2009 9:19 pm

I have been using ps3ms for about 2 months now and love it. Unfortunately I have had the same problem since day one and have searched everywhere ( or atleast everywhere that I can think of) but cannot find a fix for the following issue.

If I try to play a video that says it is mpeg2 I get an error saying "data is corrupted". The only way I can get an mpeg2 file to play is by going into the
#--TRANSCODE--# folder and selecting it from there. The weird thing is that the movies only show as mpeg2 on the PS3. If I use mediainfo on any of the so-called mpeg2 files, it comes back and tells me that they are mpeg4.

Anyone else have this problem? Is there a post that provides a fix for this already that I may have missed?
griffins

Re: "Data is Corrupted" when playing MPEG2 files

Postby ExSport » Sat May 09, 2009 10:04 pm

Vocabuary is your fix ;)
Did you read some post on this forum??? Do you know what PMS does? Do you know for what purpose folder TRANSCODE is?
In TRANSCODE folder you always will find MPEG2 files only. It is because if file is not played on PS3 natively, PMS will trancode/recode/re-encode it to compatible MPEG2.
Because that you see non MPEG2 files as MPEG2 ;)
ExSport

Postby griffins » Sun May 10, 2009 6:51 am

ExSport wrote:Vocabuary is your fix ;)

First off, I'm not sure what you mean by this, but it isn't my vocabulary that needs fixing....

ExSport wrote:Did you read some post on this forum??? Do you know what PMS does? Do you know for what purpose folder TRANSCODE is?
In TRANSCODE folder you always will find MPEG2 files only. It is because if file is not played on PS3 natively, PMS will trancode/recode/re-encode it to compatible MPEG2.