.MKV 10+ GIGS Files

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

.MKV 10+ GIGS Files

Postby 123qwesz » Mon May 04, 2009 4:08 pm

Hi everybody,

a while back I had some issues streaming 1080p 10+ Gigs .mkv files. I was told that I had to use the ethernet, direct wired connection? So anyway, I had just renovated my entire house. The wireless router is placed outside beside my Hd Tv along with my PS3. Question is, how do I come about trying to stream these files? I am currently using a laptop, not desktop computer.

Could anyone guide me step-by-step as to how to set up the connection? Do I plug the internet cable to my PS3? Will I be able to use my laptop then?

Oh and another question, I have seen some websites that has "Converted HD PS3 movies" using rapidshare. These files are usually a max of 2GB. Is there any difference at all if I were to copy over a 10GB mkv file of the same movie?

Looking forward to your replies.
123qwesz
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:00 pm

Re: .MKV 10+ GIGS Files

Postby 123qwesz » Tue May 05, 2009 1:18 pm

Anyone can help me please? :(
123qwesz
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:00 pm

Re: .MKV 10+ GIGS Files

Postby meskibob » Tue May 05, 2009 2:31 pm

To wire up your network:
1) Connect the PS3's ethernet port to one of the router's LAN ports using an ethernet cable.
2) Go to the PS3's network settings and tell it to use the Wired connection (see the PS3 manual for more details)
3) Connect the laptop's ethernet port to another one of the router's LAN ports using an ethernet cable.
4) Disable the Wireless NIC on your laptop and enable the ethernet NIC (example of how to do this on WinXP: http://www.home-network-help.com/disable-network.html)
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4763
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: .MKV 10+ GIGS Files

Postby 123qwesz » Wed May 13, 2009 4:48 pm

Hey thanks so much for the tutorial!

Will be doing it once I upgrade my PS3 HDD to 500GB, I don't think 1TB PS3 is available?

Anyway, for does who are using ethernet to copy files onto their PS3 HDD, how long would a, say 10GB Mkv File take?


PLease reply :)
123qwesz
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:00 pm

Re: .MKV 10+ GIGS Files

Postby pmos69 » Wed May 13, 2009 5:12 pm

You should know that the mkv file will not be copied to the PS3. A transcoded or remuxed copy of the relevant AV content will.
The PS3 itself does not support the MKV encapsulation.
pmos69
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:37 pm

Re: .MKV 10+ GIGS Files

Postby Subject2Change » Wed May 13, 2009 5:35 pm

It is going to take a while to copy over a 10+ gig transcoded file over ethernet; won't be as long on a gigabit network.
Core2Duo E8400 (@ 3.0), 8gigs of Mushkin, Vista Home Premium SP2 64bit, 2.5 TB of Space, Wired to Linksys WRT54G wired to 80GB MGS4 PS3 on Sharp 32" 720p LCD TV
Subject2Change
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:28 am

Re: .MKV 10+ GIGS Files

Postby 123qwesz » Thu May 14, 2009 3:12 am

Yeah I know about .mkv's incompatiablility with the PS3. PS3 Media server is able to transcode it and get played on my television screen.
Last time I tried copying a file over via Wireless, 'the dark knight', 10 GB, it took me a whopping 7 hours!

Right now, with the ethernet, if I were to do the copy function, how long would you reckon it would take?
123qwesz
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:00 pm

Re: .MKV 10+ GIGS Files

Postby 123qwesz » Thu May 14, 2009 2:20 pm

Anyone can help me out? I'm just wondering how long it will take :|
123qwesz
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:00 pm

Re: .MKV 10+ GIGS Files

Postby shagrath » Thu May 14, 2009 2:40 pm

help you on what ? 1080p on wireless is not possible.
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: .MKV 10+ GIGS Files

Postby pmos69 » Thu May 14, 2009 2:47 pm

well, PMS is so good it can actually work, with some quality limitations.
been streaming 1080p over wi-fi (G) with no stuttering with these settings for a while:

keyint=25:vqmax=5:vqmin=2
Max bandwidth: 20Mbps
pmos69
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:37 pm

Next

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 16 guests