MKV Subs

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

MKV Subs

Postby Gaia » Wed Apr 08, 2009 3:37 am

Hi,

Really great program you have here :). I'm having a bit of trouble with MKV embedded subs. I mostly use this app to stream HQ Anime episodes from my computer to PS3. Which works great for the most part. However, for some reason MEncoder won't pick up the subtitles in some of the MKV files. Some work and some don't. I don't even know where to begin to figure out why. I've tried toggling many different options to no avail.

Anyone else have any similar issue with MKV and the embedded subs? When I play the MKV file via Zoom Player + CCCP codec pack the subs work fine. Just not when using PS3 Media Server.

Thanks!
Gaia
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 3:31 am

Re: MKV Subs

Postby Gaia » Wed Apr 08, 2009 3:50 am

Just to add, I checked the Transcode folder on my PS3 for the MKV file....and it lists the subs/audio as undetermined.

MEncoder {Audio: AAC/Undertermined}
MEncoder {Audio: AAC/Undetermined} {Sub: Embedded/Undertermined}
TsMuxer {Audio: AAC/Undertermined}

Is there anyway to force it to recognize them as a specific language? Or is it something wrong with how the subs were initially embedded?

============

Odd, I clicked on the MEncoder {Audio: AAC/Undetermined} {Sub: Embedded/Undertermined} file name under the Transcode section and it then played the video with subs.

Oh well, works now! Guess I'll just have to go into the Transcode folder for any other MKV's that don't show subs.

Thanks!
Gaia
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 3:31 am

Re: MKV Subs

Postby shagrath » Wed Apr 08, 2009 8:14 am

or just add "und" into the list of subtitles priority:
Code: Select all
eng,jpn,und
for example
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: MKV Subs

Postby Gaia » Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:18 pm

shagrath wrote:or just add "und" into the list of subtitles priority:
Code: Select all
eng,jpn,und
for example


Never even thought of that! I'll give it a try, thanks :).
Gaia
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 3:31 am

Re: MKV Subs

Postby fastjohn » Thu Apr 09, 2009 1:33 pm

shagrath wrote:or just add "und" into the list of subtitles priority:
Code: Select all
eng,jpn,und
for example



thanks, I can confirm this works, just make sure you save the settings. :)
fastjohn
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:14 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests