FLAC Support Broken in v1.81.0 and cannot get it back

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

FLAC Support Broken in v1.81.0 and cannot get it back

Postby DBG » Sat May 04, 2013 7:32 am

I didn't think I'd ever be "that guy", but I'm really at my wits end here as I've tried everything to get my collection of flac files to play. I know the old slogan is "If it's not broken, don't fix it.", however I tend to keep all of the software on my home computer fully updated (esp. with PMS as sometimes a minor fix can greatly improve performance).

My setup - NAT (only connected via eSATA instead of network) box connected to i7 Ivy Bridge PC running PMS 1.8.1 (although I have tried reverting back to 1.80.0 as that was the last time flac streaming worked), connected to gigabit network directly to PS3 over ethernet.

Anything video-wise runs great. AAC, MP3, etc all fine (although they are not being transcoded since the PS3 can play them natively). When I go to a folder that contains FLAC files, each file is listed as "Unsupported Data". Nothing has changed configuration-wise that should cause this, and this is the example of an error I receive when I try to play a flac file.

INFO 2013-05-04 02:24:04.960 [pool-99-thread-1] Exception in thread "pool-99-thread-1" java.lang.NullPointerException
INFO 2013-05-04 02:24:04.966 [pool-99-thread-1] at net.pms.dlna.CueFolder.resolve(CueFolder.java:170)
INFO 2013-05-04 02:24:04.967 [pool-99-thread-1] at net.pms.dlna.DLNAResource.run(DLNAResource.java:803)
INFO 2013-05-04 02:24:04.967 [pool-99-thread-1] at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source)
INFO 2013-05-04 02:24:04.968 [pool-99-thread-1] at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
INFO 2013-05-04 02:24:04.968 [pool-99-thread-1] at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
DEBUG 2013-05-04 02:24:06.090 [New I/O server worker #1-2] Calculated size: 45696000
DEBUG 2013-05-04 02:24:06.090 [New I/O server worker #1-2] Calculated size: 45312000
DEBUG 2013-05-04 02:24:06.090 [New I/O server worker #1-2] Calculated size: 10752000
DEBUG 2013-05-04 02:24:06.091 [New I/O server worker #1-2] Calculated size: 55104000
DEBUG 2013-05-04 02:24:06.091 [New I/O server worker #1-2] Calculated size: 61824000
DEBUG 2013-05-04 02:24:06.091 [New I/O server worker #1-2] Calculated size: 51840000
DEBUG 2013-05-04 02:24:06.091 [New I/O server worker #1-2] Calculated size: 42432000
DEBUG 2013-05-04 02:24:06.092 [New I/O server worker #1-2] Calculated size: 38208000
DEBUG 2013-05-04 02:24:06.092 [New I/O server worker #1-2] Calculated size: 43200000
DEBUG 2013-05-04 02:24:06.092 [New I/O server worker #1-2] Calculated size: 43008000
DEBUG 2013-05-04 02:24:06.341 [New I/O server worker #1-3] Calculated size: 44544000
INFO 2013-05-04 02:24:06.341 [pool-102-thread-2] Exception in thread "pool-102-thread-2" java.lang.NullPointerException
DEBUG 2013-05-04 02:24:06.341 [New I/O server worker #1-3] Calculated size: 47616000
INFO 2013-05-04 02:24:06.341 [pool-102-thread-2] at net.pms.dlna.CueFolder.resolve(CueFolder.java:170)
INFO 2013-05-04 02:24:06.342 [pool-102-thread-2] at net.pms.dlna.DLNAResource.run(DLNAResource.java:803)
DEBUG 2013-05-04 02:24:06.342 [New I/O server worker #1-3] Calculated size: 28416000
INFO 2013-05-04 02:24:06.342 [pool-102-thread-2] at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(Unknown Source)
INFO 2013-05-04 02:24:06.342 [pool-102-thread-2] at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
INFO 2013-05-04 02:24:06.342 [pool-102-thread-2] at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)


It doesn't mention a filename or a encoder-error like I would expect, it just seems to run out of resources (which there are plenty of). Do I need to install an older version of Java or something? I'm currently running Version 7 Update 21 (build 1.7.0_21-b11). I really need my tunes for relaxing to, so any help would be great. I'm willing to do anything at this point.

Edit: I've also tried different audio encoding engines with no change.
DBG
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 5:14 am

Re: FLAC Support Broken in v1.81.0 and cannot get it back

Postby muzsta » Sat May 04, 2013 6:39 pm

I am suffering similar problems.

I'm using MacBook PRO to host the files and server, wireless network, PS3 and then ONKYO amp etc.

MP3 is fine, FLAC is not. It used to be...?

The only reason I use PMS is to play FLAC from my laptop through the HIFI speakers. Please can someone send some advice?
muzsta
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 6:33 pm

Re: FLAC Support Broken in v1.81.0 and cannot get it back

Postby DBG » Sat May 11, 2013 8:42 am

muzsta wrote:I am suffering similar problems.

I'm using MacBook PRO to host the files and server, wireless network, PS3 and then ONKYO amp etc.

MP3 is fine, FLAC is not. It used to be...?

The only reason I use PMS is to play FLAC from my laptop through the HIFI speakers. Please can someone send some advice?

This is how I was able to fix my issue, I hope it works for you. Apperently when I upgraded to a newer version of VLC, it messed up my configuration (even after uninstalling PMS and it's conf files, which stick around after a full uninstall), however I didn't have issues until I upgraded to the latest PMS, so I didn't consider VLC as part of the problem at first. I noticed that when I highlighted a non-working FLAC file (which was just listed as "Unsupported Format" I believe), if I clicked the triangle and then went to Info, the metadata was being read by VLC (when I had MPlayer set for my music files). I had to revert back to an old version of VLC and now everything is fine. If I can trace the conflict, I will try to add a fix to the git source or at least add a post to PMS's GitHub Issues.

In the meantime, if this doesn't work let me know and I will try and help. I have the forums set to monitor this post (btw, forums admins, you might want to plug proper entries into your phpBB mail settings, when i reset my password I guess there was a conflict in the settings between "www.ps3mediaserver.org" and "server.robinmulder.nl", which I assume is the actual host and GMail flagged it as spam; I'm sure you are more than capable of handling it yourselves but I can give you directions that would clear things up in 5 minutes assuming you have decent DNS servers =).
DBG
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 5:14 am

Re: FLAC Support Broken in v1.81.0 and cannot get it back

Postby riks » Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:54 pm

You are spot on with VLC being the issue DBG. I certainly didn't have the newest version of VLC, but I just updated it and it still didn't work. I then played around with a few settings in PMS, disabling all the VLC transcoders (under transcode settings). The one that seems to be causing the problem is the VLC entry under "Video Files and Engines" - if you disable just that and restart you should magically see all your music reappear under your appropriate transcoder (FFmpeg in my case).

This might be a problem if you regularly use VLC to transcode video.

Cheers for the help guys, thought I'd sign up and share due to the vast amount of information I've gleaned off these forums over the years!
riks
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:45 pm

Re: FLAC Support Broken in v1.81.0 and cannot get it back

Postby huffmatic » Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:13 pm

I"m so glad you guys are here to help! This has been making me mental for the last week or so since I upgraded to PMS 1.81.0.

Is there any way you can tell me how to uninstall the VLC config files that you mention above DBG?? I had VLC....deleted it from applications folder (i'm on a Macbook BTW...about 5-6 years old), but i'm not sure how to delete any config files??

I get the exact same error you guys are talking about...all my FLAC files display as "unsupported data" but everything else seems to play fine.

thanks again
huffmatic
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: FLAC Support Broken in v1.81.0 and cannot get it back

Postby huffmatic » Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:34 pm

So I've now deleted VLC, PMS, reinstalled latest PMS (1.81.0) and no dice. Arrrggg....
huffmatic
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: FLAC Support Broken in v1.81.0 and cannot get it back

Postby Raptor399 » Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:35 pm

Fix committed, will be fixed in the next release.
You can try a snapshot build in the mean time.
Raptor399
Project Member
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:06 am


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests