Bandwith limiting

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Bandwith limiting

Postby ps3home » Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:04 pm

I know it's a dumb/noob question but, how can I limit bandwith used?
ps3home
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:30 pm

Re: Bandwith limiting

Postby ExSport » Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:17 pm

Read carefully options in PMS ;)
Tip: search in Transcoding settings tab for Maximum bandwidth 8-)
ExSport
 
Posts: 2168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: Bandwith limiting

Postby ps3home » Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:30 pm

god dam... that's was why I was so not willing to post.... I knew it have to be easy.... shame on me... :oops:
ps3home
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:30 pm

Re: Bandwith limiting

Postby ps3home » Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:50 pm

I might messed this out.... It's not limiting now... No matter what value I put in limit, it seems not to be working. humm....
ps3home
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:30 pm

Re: Bandwith limiting

Postby silverlw » Fri Jan 23, 2009 8:40 am

I have the same kind of problem for every version that have been released including 1.03.
No matter what bandwidth limitations i enter i can easily get a transfer of up to 200Mbit and i would like to limit it to around 50-70Mbit per sec.
The only way for me to get a sustainable data transfer is to limit the quality of the encoding as for example keyint=25:vqmax=5:vqmin=2 /* Good quality for HD Wifi Transcoding */. But then it also degrades the quality very much.
I have 100Mbit network and a quadcore Q9300 @2,5Ghz and 4Gb ram Xp64

Please advice
silverlw
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 8:21 am

Re: Bandwith limiting

Postby shagrath » Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:45 am

try keyint=25:vqscale=1:vqmin=2 , that should work a little better I think
careful , there's an editing bug, you have to give focus to another textbox to make your changes taken into account
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Bandwith limiting

Postby rankafan » Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:58 am

silverlw wrote:I have the same kind of problem for every version that have been released including 1.03.
No matter what bandwidth limitations i enter i can easily get a transfer of up to 200Mbit and i would like to limit it to around 50-70Mbit per sec.
The only way for me to get a sustainable data transfer is to limit the quality of the encoding as for example keyint=25:vqmax=5:vqmin=2 /* Good quality for HD Wifi Transcoding */. But then it also degrades the quality very much.
I have 100Mbit network and a quadcore Q9300 @2,5Ghz and 4Gb ram Xp64

Please advice

I've have been having the exact same issue: never been able to limit bandwidth by setting the alleged upper limit. Not that I want a limit per se (as I have a gigabit network), but the 'limit bandwidth' options limits nada.

There's a question whether that bandwidth limit setting even has meaning to Mencoder in all contexts (much like, for instance, --vbv-maxrate has no meaning to x264 in CRF mode). I suspect that once you tell it to go 'lossless', Mencoder may simply ignore any 'maxrate' setting you throw at it. I'd have to investigate that further, though.
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
User avatar
rankafan
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:19 am

Re: Bandwith limiting

Postby ps3home » Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:18 pm

It might be it. Is there a workaround?
ps3home
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:30 pm

Re: Bandwith limiting

Postby maraxxx » Fri Jan 23, 2009 8:21 pm

Same problem here, I put bandwidth limit and after some time I must again restart PMS because video start stuttering and play on bigger limit than limit I added. I have 4 core CPU and wired 100 mbit LAN.
maraxxx
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:59 pm

Re: Bandwith limiting

Postby Irvysan » Fri Jan 23, 2009 10:39 pm

Read this post :

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=17

Hope that helps ;)
Irvysan
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:24 pm
Location: Somewhere Near Mars (Earth!)


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 7 guests