Optimum settings?

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Re: Optimum settings?

Postby way2quik » Mon Apr 20, 2009 5:22 am

I pretty much have the exact/similar settings to all of you guys.
It is true that when the animation is very detailed, the stutter happens. Yet, I have not let the buffer status reach to completion so that might be a cause. The skipping happens when the video reaches 30+Mbps.
Again, I set Maximum Bandwidth = 0. I may set it as low as 15, but doing so made little to no difference.

Will having a Wireless-N router benefit from all this? I'm currently using wrt54gl w/ tomato. I always thought the PS3 was only B and G compatible.

[note: my computer isn't that low end either. E8400, 8800gt 512mb, 4gb ram, vista 64]
way2quik
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:59 am

Re: Optimum settings?

Postby inmyrem » Mon Apr 20, 2009 10:59 am

I had pretty poor results with wireless streaming to the PS3. Some haven't. I guess it's a crapshoot. I bought an extra powerline connection for one I already had set up. That's been working great instead of running a cable all the way through the house.

I did notice a new version and tried out 1.10.625. Uh, yeah, went back to 1.10.51 because 625 kept crashing 10-15 minutes into anything we watched.
inmyrem
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:08 am

Re: Optimum settings?

Postby saeba79 » Mon Apr 20, 2009 12:39 pm

I'm using the Netgear HD/Gaming 5ghz Wireless-N solution. It has 2 units - a bridge and access point. The bridge is wired to my network router (WRT350N) and though that to my PC and the access point is wired to the PS3 (100mbit wired connections). The 2 units communicate via 5ghz wireless-n. As stated, I get around 35mbps sustained in this configuration which is better than what I could get with wireless-G (less than 20mbps as I remember).

Wireless-N performance (like any wireless) is really subject to how far away the connections are (in my case, it's only about 3 meters), how many floors or walls are between (1 floor for me), and how much network noise there is (5ghz wireless phones, etc). No guarantees on performance. You kinda have to try it and see. My understanding is that the higher the ghz of the transmission, the less range.

Powerline adapters are another way to go, but I've read of people having issues with this solution as well (connection problems, bandwidth issues). So again, I'd say... No guarantees on performance. You kinda have to try it and see.

The safest bet is to wire the PS3 up. But doing that isn't always possible so we end up trying one of these other solutions :( !
Intel Quad Q6600 2.4ghz, 6gb memory, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, D-Link DAP-1522 Xtreme-N Duo Wireless Bridge/Access Point, PS3 w/40gb, 61" Samsung 1080P DLP TV
saeba79
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 6:52 pm

Re: Optimum settings?

Postby way2quik » Tue Apr 21, 2009 1:21 am

Totally agree.
It seems the real issue we all have is with 1080p videos seeing none of us have issues with 720p streamed or with having a wired connection.
way2quik
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:59 am

Re: Optimum settings?

Postby ape12 » Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:09 pm

No, i have problem streaming with my 720p file, even rmvb also shuttering.

I have tried all setting as suggested by the members here but all no luck. can someone help me?

My pc configuration is as follow:

ps3-----dlink wirelessG router --------- pc, all the connection is by ethernet and powerline (using a pair of aztech home plug 105MB)

my pc is intel core 2 duo E7400, 3 GB ram, and 512MB GC using vista home premium.

can i know which part i am missing? thanks in advance...
ape12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:04 pm

Re: Optimum settings?

Postby saeba79 » Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:31 pm

ape12 wrote:No, i have problem streaming with my 720p file, even rmvb also shuttering.


What setting are you using for video quality (under "Common transcode settings)? This is what determines how much network bandwidth is required between PC and PS3.

When I was using:
keyint=1:vqscale=1:vqmin=2 /* Best Quality */
This setting used more network bandwidth than I had in my configuration when playing back 1080P sources ( > 40mbps) and I'd get stuttering.

I then dropped down to:
keyint=25:vqscale=1:vqmin=2
and that resolved my problem and I'm able to play even 1080P sources.

Wireless-N, powerline adapters, etc. ... From what I've read, the network speeds provided by the vendors are all marketing specs. The real-world performance is quite different. My Wireless-N can run at 300mbps... but the ethernet ports are only 100mbit and the real-world performance is more like 35 mbps. That's still better than wireless-g at 15-20 mbps, but not like wired speed.
Intel Quad Q6600 2.4ghz, 6gb memory, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, D-Link DAP-1522 Xtreme-N Duo Wireless Bridge/Access Point, PS3 w/40gb, 61" Samsung 1080P DLP TV
saeba79
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 6:52 pm

Re: Optimum settings?

Postby ape12 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:36 am

thx saeba79, i have tried 25,1,1, and 25,1,2 and even 2,3,2 (good quality) oso the same. I wonder what is the problem.... :x
ape12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:04 pm

Re: Optimum settings?

Postby saeba79 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:45 am

ape12 wrote:thx saeba79, i have tried 25,1,1, and 25,1,2 and even 2,3,2 (good quality) oso the same. I wonder what is the problem.... :x


Well... 2 things to look at:

(1) Can your PC keep up with the transcoding requirements (if you are transcoding)? So... does the transcoding buffer generally keep filled or is it emptied? Do you see your 2 cpus max'd out or is there spare capacity?

According to the readme:
A core 2 duo CPU (mine is a E6750, 2.66GHz) for smooth 1080p transcoding, but 720p seems to be transcodable with a good P4 :p
so you should be OK.

If this is an issue, depending on what media you're playing, there are some things that can help. In the Readme, it recommends:

Optional Codecs: CoreAVC is a good choice for H264 decoding, Quicktime Alternative and Real Alternative are also useful
(Apple 1080p trailers for example).

(2) Can your network keep up with the video feed? If the items you tried didn't work, then try dropping down to lower quality settings until the stuttering goes away.
keyint=25:vqmax=5:vqmin=2 /* Good quality for HD Wifi Transcoding */ or
keyint=25:vqmax=7:vqmin=2 /* Medium quality for HD Wifi Transcoding

If one of these works, then this means that some part of your network is limiting your throughput. I've heard that the powerline adapters (I believe you said you're using these) are really dependent on the quality of your wiring, what electrical items you have plugged in, and if in an apt complex, what your neighbors have plugged in, etc.
Intel Quad Q6600 2.4ghz, 6gb memory, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, D-Link DAP-1522 Xtreme-N Duo Wireless Bridge/Access Point, PS3 w/40gb, 61" Samsung 1080P DLP TV
saeba79
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 6:52 pm

Re: Optimum settings?

Postby ape12 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:01 am

ths again, i think yr second point is the source of problem. during transcoding, the cpu usage is about 65% only. but my network meter showed only 1Mbps to 3Mbps. yes, the buffer is filling but fill with a very slow speed. I have tried to copy a 200 MB rmvb file from my pc to ps3, and it took me 3.5mins.

I think there must be some problem with my home plug (powerline adapter), i plug the adapter through the extension plug (have a few sockets on it), does it affect the network speed?

The other thing i can think about is my dlink wirelessG router, is there any possibility some setting in my router has limited the network speed?
ape12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:04 pm

Re: Optimum settings?

Postby saeba79 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:11 am

ape12 wrote:ths again, i think yr second point is the source of problem. during transcoding, the cpu usage is about 65% only. but my network meter showed only 1Mbps to 3Mbps. yes, the buffer is filling but fill with a very slow speed. I have tried to copy a 200 MB rmvb file from my pc to ps3, and it took me 3.5mins.


200MB in 3.5mins is about... 8-10mbps. That would seem to be your problem. That's slower that a clean wireless-g connection would give you (15-20 mbps).


ape12 wrote:I think there must be some problem with my home plug (powerline adapter), i plug the adapter through the extension plug (have a few sockets on it), does it affect the network speed?


I believe they tell you not to plug the powerline adapter into an extension plug. Could you try plugging it straight in the wall?
Intel Quad Q6600 2.4ghz, 6gb memory, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, D-Link DAP-1522 Xtreme-N Duo Wireless Bridge/Access Point, PS3 w/40gb, 61" Samsung 1080P DLP TV
saeba79
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 6:52 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 16 guests