[NOT SOLVED] Setting up localhost address, subnet issue

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

[NOT SOLVED] Setting up localhost address, subnet issue

Postby Scarface » Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:08 pm

Hi.

As I did not get much help from my first topic, I'll try again with this topic with a bit more detail of my problem.

Firstly, I'll explain my network setup:

I have a router given by my ISP. A wired cable from there goes to my PC. A second wire goes to my wireless router Airport Express. My PS3 is connected to the Airport Express router.

When I launch the server, it gives me the error: no renderers were found. And sometimes, it says "connected", but with an unknown renderer. I suppose that means it can ping something (maybe PS3, not sure), but something blocks the connection.

This only happends with my stationary PC, which is not running wirelessly, but wired. If I run a laptop connected to my Wi-Fi (the WiFi (airport express), my PS3 runs on), it will work with no problem. It can find the device, I can watch movies, all good. But as I do not own a laptop, but only this PC, I want it to work here.

I was told that I might have a subnet issue, and was redirected to a topic. It explained the subnet issue, but it did not explain how to solve it.

meskibob wrote:Your server and device are on different subnets:
Per the DLNA protocol (which uses UDP broadcast packets), the server and device must be on the same subnet. The easiest way to check is if you can ping the device from the server (successful ping = on same subnet). This issue should only really happen if you have multiple routers or managed switches in your network. If you only have a single router/switch, then you incorrectly set a manual IP address on at least one of your devices leading to a subnet mismatch


That doesn't really tell me how to solve it, and how to put my ps3 and PC on the same subnet. Or, I probably don't understand it well (I'm not so good at technical stuff). Can you show me a guide, or some tutorial?

Debug.log, from my stationary PC:

Code: Select all
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:34.854 [main] Java version: 1.7.0_05
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:34.854 [main] Java vendor: Oracle Corporation
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:34.854 [main] Java class path: update.jar;pms.jar
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:34.855 [main] Operating system name: Windows 7
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:34.855 [main] Operating system architecture: x86
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:34.856 [main] Operating system version: 6.1
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.277 [main] SUN 1.7: SUN (DSA key/parameter generation; DSA signing; SHA-1, MD5 digests; SecureRandom; X.509 certificates; JKS keystore; PKIX CertPathValidator; PKIX CertPathBuilder; LDAP, Collection CertStores, JavaPolicy Policy; JavaLoginConfig Configuration)
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.277 [main] SunRsaSign 1.7: Sun RSA signature provider
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.277 [main] SunEC 1.7: Sun Elliptic Curve provider (EC, ECDSA, ECDH)
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.277 [main] SunJSSE 1.7: Sun JSSE provider(PKCS12, SunX509 key/trust factories, SSLv3, TLSv1)
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.277 [main] SunJCE 1.7: SunJCE Provider (implements RSA, DES, Triple DES, AES, Blowfish, ARCFOUR, RC2, PBE, Diffie-Hellman, HMAC)
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.277 [main] SunJGSS 1.7: Sun (Kerberos v5, SPNEGO)
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.277 [main] SunSASL 1.7: Sun SASL provider(implements client mechanisms for: DIGEST-MD5, GSSAPI, EXTERNAL, PLAIN, CRAM-MD5, NTLM; server mechanisms for: DIGEST-MD5, GSSAPI, CRAM-MD5, NTLM)
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.277 [main] XMLDSig 1.0: XMLDSig (DOM XMLSignatureFactory; DOM KeyInfoFactory)
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.277 [main] SunPCSC 1.7: Sun PC/SC provider
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.277 [main] SunMSCAPI 1.7: Sun's Microsoft Crypto API provider
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.282 [main] Set parameter http.useragent = Jakarta Commons-HttpClient/3.1
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.284 [main] Set parameter http.protocol.version = HTTP/1.1
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.285 [main] Set parameter http.connection-manager.class = class org.apache.commons.httpclient.SimpleHttpConnectionManager
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.286 [main] Set parameter http.protocol.cookie-policy = default
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.286 [main] Set parameter http.protocol.element-charset = US-ASCII
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.286 [main] Set parameter http.protocol.content-charset = ISO-8859-1
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.288 [main] Set parameter http.method.retry-handler = org.apache.commons.httpclient.DefaultHttpMethodRetryHandler@becf73
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:35.289 [main] Set parameter http.dateparser.patterns = [EEE, dd MMM yyyy HH:mm:ss zzz, EEEE, dd-MMM-yy HH:mm:ss zzz, EEE MMM d HH:mm:ss yyyy, EEE, dd-MMM-yyyy HH:mm:ss z, EEE, dd-MMM-yyyy HH-mm-ss z, EEE, dd MMM yy HH:mm:ss z, EEE dd-MMM-yyyy HH:mm:ss z, EEE dd MMM yyyy HH:mm:ss z, EEE dd-MMM-yyyy HH-mm-ss z, EEE dd-MMM-yy HH:mm:ss z, EEE dd MMM yy HH:mm:ss z, EEE,dd-MMM-yy HH:mm:ss z, EEE,dd-MMM-yyyy HH:mm:ss z, EEE, dd-MM-yyyy HH:mm:ss z]
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:36.076 [pool-2-thread-1] Open connection to raw.github.com:443
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.275 [pool-2-thread-1] >> "GET /ps3mediaserver/ps3mediaserver/master/src/main/external-resources/update/update_4.properties?currentVersion=1.60.0&operatingSystem=windows&cacheBuster=0.4793037205878308 HTTP/1.1[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.275 [pool-2-thread-1] Adding Host request header
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.295 [pool-2-thread-1] >> "User-Agent: Jakarta Commons-HttpClient/3.1[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.295 [pool-2-thread-1] >> "Host: raw.github.com[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.295 [pool-2-thread-1] >> "[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.957 [pool-2-thread-1] << "HTTP/1.1 200 OK[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.957 [pool-2-thread-1] << "HTTP/1.1 200 OK[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.958 [pool-2-thread-1] << "Server: nginx/1.0.13[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.958 [pool-2-thread-1] << "Date: Mon, 06 Aug 2012 15:42:37 GMT[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.958 [pool-2-thread-1] << "Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.958 [pool-2-thread-1] << "Connection: keep-alive[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.958 [pool-2-thread-1] << "Status: 200 OK[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.958 [pool-2-thread-1] << "X-Runtime: 12[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.959 [pool-2-thread-1] << "X-RateLimit-Remaining: 100[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.959 [pool-2-thread-1] << "X-Content-Type-Options: nosniff[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.959 [pool-2-thread-1] << "Content-Disposition: inline[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.959 [pool-2-thread-1] << "X-Frame-Options: deny[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.959 [pool-2-thread-1] << "Content-Transfer-Encoding: binary[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.959 [pool-2-thread-1] << "Content-Length: 117[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.959 [pool-2-thread-1] << "Cache-Control: private[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.959 [pool-2-thread-1] << "ETag: "94bc1bd38dae556173ed5c26d98f92df"[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.959 [pool-2-thread-1] << "X-RateLimit-Limit: 100[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.959 [pool-2-thread-1] << "[\r][\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.961 [pool-2-thread-1] Buffering response body
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.963 [pool-2-thread-1] << "LatestVersion="1.60.0"[\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.963 [pool-2-thread-1] << "DownloadUrl.windows="http://ps3mediaserver.googlecode.com/files/pms-setup-windows-1.60.0.exe"[\n]"
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.964 [pool-2-thread-1] Should NOT close connection in response to directive: keep-alive
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:38.964 [pool-2-thread-1] Releasing connection back to connection manager.
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.283 [main] Starting PS3 Media Server 1.60.0
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.316 [main] by shagrath / 2008-2012
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.322 [main] http://ps3mediaserver.org
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.326 [main] https://github.com/ps3mediaserver/ps3mediaserver
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.444 [main] http://ps3mediaserver.blogspot.com
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.447 [main]
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.450 [main] Build: 097765cc2 (2012-07-17)
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.454 [main] Java: 1.7.0_05-Oracle Corporation
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.458 [main] OS: Windows 7 x86 6.1
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.462 [main] Encoding: UTF-8
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.466 [main] Memory: 742 MB
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.467 [main]
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.471 [main] Working directory: C:\Program Files\PS3 Media Server
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.501 [main] Temp folder: C:\Users\Coskun\AppData\Local\Temp\ps3mediaserver
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.508 [main] Logging config file: C:\Program Files\PS3 Media Server\logback.xml
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.511 [main] debug.log: C:\Program Files\PS3 Media Server\debug.log
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.512 [main]
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.514 [main] Profile directory: C:\ProgramData\PMS
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.517 [main] Profile path: C:\ProgramData\PMS\PMS.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.518 [main] Profile status: rw
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.583 [main] Profile name: Coskun-PC
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.584 [main]
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:39.589 [main] Loading MediaInfo library
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:41.400 [main] Loaded MediaInfoLib - v0.7.58
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:41.413 [main] Loading renderer configurations from C:\Program Files\PS3 Media Server\renderers
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:41.414 [main] Loading configuration file: AirPlayer.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:41.416 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/AirPlayer.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:41.511 [main] Loading configuration file: Android.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:41.512 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/Android.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:41.524 [main] Loading configuration file: Bravia4500.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:41.525 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/Bravia4500.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:41.543 [main] Loading configuration file: Bravia5500.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:41.546 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/Bravia5500.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:41.559 [main] Loading configuration file: BraviaEX.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:41.750 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/BraviaEX.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:41.800 [main] Loading configuration file: DirecTVHR.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:41.806 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/DirecTVHR.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:41.850 [main] Loading configuration file: DLinkDSM510.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:41.852 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/DLinkDSM510.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:41.893 [main] Loading configuration file: FreeboxHD.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:41.895 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/FreeboxHD.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:41.915 [main] Loading configuration file: FreecomMusicPal.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:41.916 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/FreecomMusicPal.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:41.945 [main] Loading configuration file: iPad-iPhone.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:41.947 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/iPad-iPhone.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.184 [main] Loading configuration file: Kuro.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.189 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/Kuro.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.284 [main] Loading configuration file: LGST600.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.287 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/LGST600.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.337 [main] Loading configuration file: N900.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.338 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/N900.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.364 [main] Loading configuration file: OPPOBDP83.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.366 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/OPPOBDP83.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.369 [main] Loading configuration file: OPPOBDP93.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.372 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/OPPOBDP93.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.383 [main] Loading configuration file: Panasonic.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.385 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/Panasonic.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.525 [main] Loading configuration file: Philips.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.526 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/Philips.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.589 [main] Loading configuration file: PhilipsPFL.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.590 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/PhilipsPFL.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.619 [main] Loading configuration file: PopcornHour.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.620 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/PopcornHour.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.623 [main] Loading configuration file: PS3.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.625 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/PS3.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.659 [main] Loading configuration file: Realtek.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.660 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/Realtek.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.675 [main] Loading configuration file: SamsungAllShare.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.677 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/SamsungAllShare.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.681 [main] Loading configuration file: SamsungWiseLink.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.686 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/SamsungWiseLink.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.690 [main] Loading configuration file: Showtime3.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.691 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/Showtime3.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.707 [main] Loading configuration file: SMP-N100.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.708 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/SMP-N100.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.717 [main] Loading configuration file: SonyBluray.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.718 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/SonyBluray.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.723 [main] Loading configuration file: Streamium.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.724 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/Streamium.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.733 [main] Loading configuration file: WDTVLive.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.750 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/WDTVLive.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.764 [main] Loading configuration file: WMP.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.767 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/WMP.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.783 [main] Loading configuration file: XBMC.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.785 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/XBMC.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.790 [main] Loading configuration file: XBOX360.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.791 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/XBOX360.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.814 [main] Loading configuration file: YamahaRXV671.conf
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.817 [main] Base path set to file:///C:/Program%20Files/PS3%20Media%20Server/renderers/YamahaRXV671.conf
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:42.820 [main] Checking MPlayer font cache. It can take a minute or so.
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:42.820 [main] launching: win32/mplayer.exe
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:45.266 [main] launching: win32/mplayer.exe
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.424 [main] Done!
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.427 [main] Found VideoLAN version 2.0.2 at: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.506 [main] Searching for plugins in C:\Program Files\PS3 Media Server\plugins
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.510 [main] No plugins found
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.573 [main] Transcoder profile AviSynth/FFmpeg will not be used because AviSynth was not found
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.576 [main] Registering transcoding engine: FFmpeg Audio
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.604 [main] Registering transcoding engine: MEncoder
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.605 [main] Transcoder profile AviSynth/MEncoder will not be used because AviSynth was not found
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.606 [main] Registering transcoding engine: FFmpeg
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.607 [main] Registering transcoding engine: MPlayer Audio
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.608 [main] Registering transcoding engine: MEncoder Web
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.609 [main] Registering transcoding engine: MPlayer Video Dump
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.610 [main] Registering transcoding engine: MPlayer Web
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.629 [main] Registering transcoding engine: tsMuxeR
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.630 [main] Registering transcoding engine: Audio High Fidelity
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:45.632 [main] Found VLC version 2.0.2 in Windows Registry: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:45.632 [main] Found VLC version 2.0.2 in Windows Registry: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:45.632 [main] Found VLC version 2.0.2 in Windows Registry: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:45.633 [main] Found VLC version 2.0.2 in Windows Registry: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.633 [main] Registering transcoding engine: VLC Audio Streaming
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:45.633 [main] Found VLC version 2.0.2 in Windows Registry: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:45.634 [main] Found VLC version 2.0.2 in Windows Registry: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:45.635 [main] Found VLC version 2.0.2 in Windows Registry: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:45.635 [main] Found VLC version 2.0.2 in Windows Registry: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.635 [main] Registering transcoding engine: VLC Video Streaming
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.636 [main] Registering transcoding engine: FFmpeg DVR-MS Remux
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.639 [main] Registering transcoding engine: dcraw Thumbnailer
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.640 [main] AviSynth is not installed. You cannot use avsmencoder as a transcoding engine.
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.870 [main] Using address /87.72.32.62 found on network interface: name:eth3 (Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC)
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:45.871 [main] Created socket: /87.72.32.62:5001
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:46.409 [main] Checking shared folder: K:\Film
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:42:46.606 [main] Sending ALIVE...
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:46.672 [main] Using the following UUID configured in PMS.conf: 24bd7e9d-62af-470a-a3ce-e166b209c3e5
INFO  2012-08-06 17:42:51.185 [main] The server should now appear on your renderer
DEBUG 2012-08-06 17:43:01.208 [UPNP-AliveMessageSender] Sending ALIVE...


As you can see, it creates a socket with my public IP. I want to create a localhost address (read below).

Two lines from a laptop I used to test, connected to my wifi:

[main] Using localhost address
[main] Created socket: 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0:5001

The laptop I used was picking up all devices that was available locally. Found WMP on 127.0.0.1 (I suppose that's the laptop's localip). And then finally it was granted access to /10.0.1.15 (Ps3's IP).

And with my PC, it creates a socket with its own IP, as you can see in the log file above. My question is, how do I make my PC work as a localhost address like the laptop?

Solutions I have tried, but did not work:

- Added PS3 Media Server to Windows Firewall
- Disabled the whole firewall
- Added port 5001
- Forced the IP 0.0.0.0 (tried to create a socket, like above)
- Forced the IP 127.0.0.1 (localhost)
- Forced the IP 10.0.1.15 (PS3's IP - gave me a lot of errors when launching server)
- Used IP filter with my PS3's IP

Also Airport Express has their own program to configure settings for your router, should I perhaps change something there? If yes, then what to change?

Please help me.
Thank you.
Scarface
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 2:33 am

Re: [NOT SOLVED] Setting up localhost address, subnet issue

Postby meskibob » Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:30 pm

  1. No need to create a second topic, especially when you just copy and paste from the first.
  2. A little patience goes a long way. You posted three times in a row in less than a day, and then did this whole debacle less than a day after that.
  3. You need to bridge your subnet (make the express bridge off the ISP router) - http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4260. Specifically (should be):
    If you are configuring the extended Wi-Fi base stations, set Connection Sharing to "Off (Bridge Mode)."
  4. The FAQ has been updated to mention bridging. Beyond that, you'll need to Google for additional information.
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4739
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: [NOT SOLVED] Setting up localhost address, subnet issue

Postby Scarface » Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:45 pm

I'm sorry. I was frustrated, I really wanted this fixed.

I chose that setting, and I could not even use my other devices (iPhone, PS3, my friend's laptop to connect to the WiFI). It said no "Internet access", so I ticked that setting off again. Is that function (bridge off) really the solution to all this? Because if it is, I'd have to find out how to get all my other devices getting internet access with that setting.
Scarface
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 2:33 am

Re: [NOT SOLVED] Setting up localhost address, subnet issue

Postby meskibob » Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:52 pm

Looks like you need to check if your ISP's router supports WDS (Wireless Distribution System) - http://www.quora.com/AirPort-Express/Ca ... -the-house (you'll need to do the WRT54GS steps in your router's configuration)
You should contact your ISP, check your router's manual, or Google for additional help, as this is outside the scope of this forum.
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4739
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: [NOT SOLVED] Setting up localhost address, subnet issue

Postby Madoka » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:21 pm

Is 87.72.32.62 your WAN IP address? It makes sense that a wireless laptop connected to the Airport can see the PS3 also on the Airport.

Is the device given to you by your ISP a router or a modem? My ISP gave me a modem that is connected to a wireless router. My 2 hardwired PCs go into the router, not the modem. My wireless laptop also connects to the wireless router. All are on the same LAN with static IP addresses. The PS3 also has a static IP address on the LAN and everyone can see everyone else.

Your PC sounds like it's on an island by itself.
Madoka
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:02 am

Re: [NOT SOLVED] Setting up localhost address, subnet issue

Postby Scarface » Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:12 am

I couldn't get it to work, meskibob. I don't know the MAC Addresse of my router, and there's no label on my router to tell me what it is.

Madoka, according to this site, http://www.mywanip.com/. Then yes, that's my WAN IP.

This is the router which was given, and set-up for us by our ISP:

http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/Allied ... 80245.aspx

I'm sorry, I don't know whether it is a router or a modem.

It does sound like my PC is on an island by itself. It can never connect with my other devices. I can't find the Airport Express with the Airport Utility either, only with a laptop.
Scarface
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 2:33 am

Re: [NOT SOLVED] Setting up localhost address, subnet issue

Postby Madoka » Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:19 am

I would plug the PC into the Airport router and, to be simple, let the PC get an address from the Airport via DHCP. Your WAN IP, WAN subnet mask, and default gateways need to be configured into the Airport router if it is a static IP address. You will have to get this info from your ISP. Right now, your PC will never see the other devices, if I understand your setup correctly.
Madoka
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:02 am

Re: [NOT SOLVED] Setting up localhost address, subnet issue

Postby Scarface » Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:04 pm

Hi thanks for your reply.

There's just one problem. The Airport Express has only one Ethernet port, and that goes to the router. The Allied Telesyn router has 2 ports, so one for the airport express, second one to PC (it doesn't have an in-built wireless neteork card).

Any other options, or would this mean this is the end, unless I want to configure a lot of settings, or even buying some hardware?
Scarface
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 2:33 am

Re: [NOT SOLVED] Setting up localhost address, subnet issue

Postby meskibob » Tue Aug 07, 2012 1:32 pm

Doesn't the AE have a WAN and LAN port? http://images.apple.com/airportexpress/ ... _ports.jpg
Connect the AE WAN to one of the Allied Telesyn LAN ports (as already mentioned in the initial Apple support link). As for the MAC address, look at the user manual for the router - http://www.alliedtelesis.com/products/legacy
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4739
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: [NOT SOLVED] Setting up localhost address, subnet issue

Postby Scarface » Tue Aug 07, 2012 3:54 pm

Hi, thank you for your reply.

I don't know what model that one is, but mine does not have a WAN port, only a LAN. This is the model I have:

http://www.ereviews.dk/wp-content/uploa ... xpress.jpg

But I think it has WAN-support, as there are settings in Airport Utility about it. Just need to learn how to configure correctly.

On my AT router, WAN is blinking red, like there's an error, I guess.

The second link you gave me, does not have the model I have. Is my router some kind of a business-related router? Like it is only distrubted to internet companies.
Scarface
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 2:33 am

Next

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot] and 6 guests