CPU loading of v1.03

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

CPU loading of v1.03

Postby tongkk » Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:44 am

This version support multicore CPU for mencoder optimized and H264 content, But I find that the CPU loading is about 40-50% when this option is enable, but only 20-30 % when it is disable. :?: :?:

My system is
Intel 9300 (Q core)
XP sp2
2G RAM
ATI 3850 512M
tongkk
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:20 am

Re: CPU loading of v1.03

Postby shagrath » Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:07 am

Well it's still better than before ;)
I've tested only on my Core2
did you check they are 4 cores selected in transcode settings ?
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: CPU loading of v1.03

Postby tongkk » Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:49 pm

Yeah, I already select 4 in transcoding setting. I just wonder why disable this new feature can get better performance than enable it???
tongkk
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:20 am

Re: CPU loading of v1.03

Postby Joksi » Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:49 pm

I have a AMD DualCore, and I can verify Mencoder works better then both CoreAVC and FFdshow with H264 1080p now.
Joksi
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:32 pm

Re: CPU loading of v1.03

Postby ps3home » Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:33 pm

Maybe it's only 2 core. ence the 50%
ps3home
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:30 pm

Re: CPU loading of v1.03

Postby shagrath » Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:39 pm

tongkk wrote:Yeah, I already select 4 in transcoding setting. I just wonder why disable this new feature can get better performance than enable it???


I guess you haven't understand the purpose of transcoding :)
this mencoder build means better core load repartition means better transcoding performance... now with a 50% cpu usage your Quad should be able to transcode any 1080p content out there (rather than 25%)
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: CPU loading of v1.03

Postby tongkk » Tue Jan 20, 2009 2:53 am

shagrath wrote:
tongkk wrote:Yeah, I already select 4 in transcoding setting. I just wonder why disable this new feature can get better performance than enable it???


I guess you haven't understand the purpose of transcoding :)
this mencoder build means better core load repartition means better transcoding performance... now with a 50% cpu usage your Quad should be able to transcode any 1080p content out there (rather than 25%)


OH I see, You means that option is to make use all Core power to transcode the 1080p media rather than decease the CPU loading?
tongkk
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:20 am

Re: CPU loading of v1.03

Postby MrNova » Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:57 am

Yeah, the trick to making an application work better with multi-cores is to split the work better between all the cores (threading) so that the work can be done in parallel, rather than one job after another (serial). If a program isn't optimized for multi-threading, then then a lot of that processing power will be wasted idling, waiting for the program to give it more numbers to crunch. MEncoder HT is faster at decoding because it can keep those cores fuller more of the time. Of course this means that you won't be able to multi-task as much, but why would you be multi-tasking at your computer while watching on your big screen :mrgreen:
MrNova
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:50 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests