Stuttering Galore

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Stuttering Galore

Postby LongbowFoSho » Sun Mar 22, 2009 4:01 pm

My first post on here, but definitely not my first go-around with a media server. I gave up on Tversity after the PS3 firmware update last year that suddenly severely limited the streaming bandwidth.

Let me first say I'm glad someone has decided to try to make this work. I wish I was smart enough to do this kind of thing, but hey I'm just a pilot.

OK, here's the problem: same as w/ Tversity, I cannot stream HD content (720p) without stuttering. Other than the faster (and easier) setup, I have not been able to get PSM to stream video to my PS3 any better than Tversity.

Disclaimer: I'm fairly capable with computers but I don't know how to edit code or anything like that. If I'm given step by step instructions, I can follow them easily.

Here's my equipment:

HP Laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0 Ghz and 4 GB RAM on Vista 64 bit Home Premium. **Note: The laptop is also connected wirelessly. I would stream from my desktop, but is an old Dell w/ a P4 3.4 Ghz**
Router is a WRT54G w/ Tomato firmware.

I have tried every setting I can think of. I've tried Tsmuxer, I've tried Mencoder, I've limited bandwidth to 10 and put mpeg quality on low. Most of my files are already in TS format, but I've tried transcoding anyways.

No matter what I do, every HD file I have begins to stutter 5 seconds into the video. I monitor my bandwidth while I'm playing the file, and even with it capped at 10, the stream still shoots up to 20 or more.

I would really appreciate some in-depth help here. I've scoured this forum and really haven't seen much helpful info.

Thanks in advance.
LongbowFoSho

Re: Stuttering Galore

Postby meskibob » Sun Mar 22, 2009 4:11 pm