Help: AC3 5.1 gets streamed as PCM 2 speakers

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Help: AC3 5.1 gets streamed as PCM 2 speakers

Postby titanax » Wed Mar 18, 2009 5:14 pm

Hi all,

I have PMS running successfully on my machine. My PS3 is connected via HDMI to my Yamaha RX-V1800. I have only 1 problem so far, all my AVI movies are playing at PCM 2 speakers on my amp. This included movies that are AC3 5.1. How can I get it on Dolby 5.1?

What settings am I supposed to tweak? I have already installed AC3Filter (I have disabled AC3 in the ffdshow audio options), but can someone advise me on what the output settings should be?
Its currently on "Dolby Surround/Prologic" the other is on "PCM Float". Should SPDIF be checked? In the System tab there are a whole bunch of configs that I dunno if I should mess around with.

Please advise.
titanax
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:15 am

Re: Help: AC3 5.1 gets streamed as PCM 2 speakers

Postby danieldenham » Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:38 pm

Did you find a solution to this as I'm looking for the same answers?

Daniel
danieldenham
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:16 pm

Re: Help: AC3 5.1 gets streamed as PCM 2 speakers

Postby danieldenham » Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:46 pm

Found the solution:
1. Go into the #--transcode--# folder then the film folder you want.
2. Scroll down and choose the audio track (either a round flag or a white circle if the audio language is unknown)
3. When playing, press the display button on PS3 remote and confirm 5.1 Dolby Digital is picked up by the PS3 & amp.

Dan
danieldenham
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:16 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests