Aspect ratio

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Aspect ratio

Postby The Fly » Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:08 pm

Welcome everyone!

I need help in using PS3 MS. I have a problem with aspects of my films. Despite that files are 16:9 (1920x1080) - black stripes on the bottom and top appears. I tried usig video scaling in Mencoder (1920x1080) but it gain no result. Also I tried adding "-vf expand=:::::16/9" to options with the same result.
The Fly
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:03 pm

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby meskibob » Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:24 pm

Is your TV adding them?
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4768
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby The Fly » Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:32 pm

No. It looks like the PS3 MS changes the height of the film (lows it) and add black stripes insted. The whole picture is visible but it is flattened.

Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

On the left you can see how it would look like properly and on the right there is how it look on my TV.

TV is Sony KDL 46 EX710
The Fly
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:03 pm

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby The Fly » Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:44 am

Anyone?

I still can not change to full screen. In addition I can say that in Mezzmo without changing anything it works on full screen but Mezzmo dose not support subtitles with Bravia and thats why I try to use PS3 MS.

Please help.
The Fly
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:03 pm

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby Illico » Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:19 pm

Could you provide MediaInfo result of your file?
What is your Sony Bravia Display option?
What is your PSM version?

For example:
_________________________________
Sony Bravia Display configuration
HOME -> Display -> Screen:
- Screen Format/Wide Mode (option name varies depending on your region/country) : Wide
-------- Enlarges the picture horizontally to fill the screen when the original source is 4:3. When the original source is 16:9 (High-definition source), select this option to display the 16:9 picture in its original size.
- Auto Format : Off
-------- Automatically changes “Screen Format/Wide Mode” to match the input signal
- 4:3 Default : Off (greyed)
-------- Sets the default screen format for a 4:3 broadcast.
- Auto Display Area : Off (greyed)
-------- Automatically adjusts the picture to the most appropriate display area.
- Display Area : +1
-------- Adjusts the picture display area. Select “Full Pixel” to display the original picture when parts of the picture are cut,“+1” to display the original picture,“Normal” to display the recommended size picture, or “-1” to enlarge the picture
Sony Bravia KDL-46EX501 | Sony BDP-S373 | Sony SMP-N100 |Serviio / PS3MS | Buffalo 2Share DD
User avatar
Illico
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:28 pm
Location: France

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby Illico » Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:43 pm

When you select "Zoom" in the remote device [8], what is the result?
Image
Sony Bravia KDL-46EX501 | Sony BDP-S373 | Sony SMP-N100 |Serviio / PS3MS | Buffalo 2Share DD
User avatar
Illico
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:28 pm
Location: France

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby The Fly » Sat Oct 29, 2011 10:41 am

I use "wide" option.

It is not tv settings problem because when using Mezzmo the video is ok (tv settings the same as for ps3ms).
The Fly
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:03 pm

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby pls » Sun Oct 30, 2011 7:39 pm

I have the same problem. Is there no solution?
pls
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 6:27 pm

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby nocciola82 » Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:24 pm

I've a Sony 32EX500, I solved with these parameters
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=7423&start=40#p41593
nocciola82
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:04 pm

Re: Aspect ratio

Postby pls » Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:29 pm

I have 40EX500 and have typed all those params as written but format is still 4:3, I need to use zoom option on my TV.
pls
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 6:27 pm

Next

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests