When Attempting to Copy Large File To PS3

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

When Attempting to Copy Large File To PS3

Postby buchowski » Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:30 pm

Whenever I try to copy a file around 4-5gb it says that there isn't enough storage space on my PS3 but I have no problems copying the same file from the same source using different streaming software. It would be cool if you could fix this problem.

Thanks for such great software.
buchowski
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: When Attempting to Copy Large File To PS3

Postby ExSport » Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:17 pm

ExSport
 
Posts: 2167
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: When Attempting to Copy Large File To PS3

Postby buchowski » Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:05 am

Thanks but that doesn't sovle the problem.

I'm not talking about transcoding and copying. Just simply copying a file is the problem. It has nothing to do with FAT32 as the PS3 doesn't use FAT32. I have no problem copying the exact same file in TVersity.

I don't want a solution, I just wanted to make the creator of PMS aware of this problem and hopefully it can be fixed in future versions.
buchowski
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: When Attempting to Copy Large File To PS3

Postby ExSport » Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:32 am

it will not solve your problem but why create many topics about the same?
Copying is not possible when PMS fakes size of video. You can see it on PS3. Maybe file on your PC is 20MB but if PMS fakes it to 94GB, then it will be impossible to save it on 80GB PS3 ;)
And if creator of PMS know about it? Yes, check here:http://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver/issues/detail?id=153#c7
I only posted it because there are lot of same questions here and everybody create own topics = chaos. I think that it is better to talk about same things in one topic and not on many places separately.
My opinion....I first read/search and if I found nothing, I will create new topic for that.
ExSport
 
Posts: 2167
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: When Attempting to Copy Large File To PS3

Postby buchowski » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:55 pm

If TVersity can copy a 5gb file from my PC to my 80GB PS3 then why can't PS3 Media Server?

If people didn't report bugs then software would never improve.
buchowski
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: When Attempting to Copy Large File To PS3

Postby shagrath » Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:01 am

buchowski wrote:If people didn't report bugs then software would never improve.


you're the 100th to report that one, don't worry
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: When Attempting to Copy Large File To PS3

Postby ExSport » Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:04 am

Agree, but it is not bug. Author of this prog fakes video size meaningly for better performace when listing files on PS3. And there are already lot of same questions around, try search:-)
In next build there will be option to disable faked video size, but with performance drop.
Shagrath, when you fakes video size to 94GB, why not to 100MB? It will not drop performance and copying will be possible:-)
ExSport
 
Posts: 2167
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: When Attempting to Copy Large File To PS3

Postby shagrath » Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:07 am

ExSport wrote:Shagrath, when you fakes video size to 94GB, why not to 100MB? It will not drop performance and copying will be possible:-)


cause ps3 will stop just after receiving 100Mb (doh)
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: When Attempting to Copy Large File To PS3

Postby ExSport » Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:15 am

shagrath wrote:cause ps3 will stop just after receiving 100Mb (doh)

I thought that. Same problem was in Tversity. Also when time was reported only 1min when transcoding, GOTO wasn't possible... I think that this info(video size) can't be updated dynamically when video is streamed after some time, yes?
If yes, then when you populate COPY on PS3, size check will allow to copy it(1GB) and after few megabytes is requested, video size will be updated to correct one:-) But I don't think so it is possible...
Anyway thanks for this option and great support.
ExSport
 
Posts: 2167
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: When Attempting to Copy Large File To PS3

Postby gate1975mlm » Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:36 am

How about an option to make the size to what ever the user wants?

Example most of the movies I watch are around 750MB So I could make it around that correct?

Also option to disable it altogether aswell.
gate1975mlm
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:40 am

Next

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], ray123 and 10 guests