starting ps3ms as a windows service

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

starting ps3ms as a windows service

Postby mi2k » Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:13 pm

I have been using ps3ms for couple of months now (works great except for audio sync in some situations!).

So far I have started it only directly. When I start it as a windows service it does not show up on XMB (and ps3 is not found on the status tab). I am using a wired 100mb connection. SSDP is running.

Can someone please give me a clue on what could be going wrong? I tried attaching the debug logs for direct and service startup but got a message that uploading a .log is not allowed.
Last edited by mi2k on Sun Mar 15, 2009 12:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mi2k
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:21 pm

Re: starting ps3ms as a windows server

Postby Topguy » Fri Mar 13, 2009 5:46 pm

mi2k wrote: I tried attaching the debug logs for direct and service startup but got a message that uploading a .log is not allowed.


You just has to compress them with zip or rar.
Topguy
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:27 pm

Re: starting ps3ms as a windows service

Postby mi2k » Sun Mar 15, 2009 12:08 pm

Thanks. I posted two debug logs -- direct debug log is from when the ps3ms was started directly and everything worked fine, and service debug log is from when it was started as a service and ps3ms and ps3 did not detect each other.

Any clues will be helpful.
Attachments
debug logs.zip
(7.1 KiB) Downloaded 40 times
mi2k
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:21 pm

Re: starting ps3ms as a windows service

Postby bschell » Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:37 pm

Did you ever find a solution to this? I am having the same problem and would love to find a fix. This tool works great other than this issue I am having. :D
bschell
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:35 pm

Re: starting ps3ms as a windows service

Postby fsn1977 » Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:21 pm

I have the same problem :|
fsn1977
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:55 pm

Re: starting ps3ms as a windows service

Postby shagrath » Mon Mar 23, 2009 7:19 pm

you need to add ps3mediaserver\win32\service\wrapper.exe into your firewall rules
run as an admin could also help
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: starting ps3ms as a windows service

Postby Smeezy101 » Tue Mar 24, 2009 7:11 pm

shagrath wrote:you need to add ps3mediaserver\win32\service\wrapper.exe into your firewall rules
run as an admin could also help


Easiest way to do this is to double-click on wrapper.exe and click allow or yes (I forget the exact dialog) when the firewall asks to make an exception.
Smeezy101
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:28 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 24 guests