VLC access to rtsp resource w/ username and password failed

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

VLC access to rtsp resource w/ username and password failed

Postby peta_kl » Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:50 pm

Hi friends,

I'm trying to access an internal live stream from my IP-Cam with username and password.
With VLC it works perfectly like this:

vlc.exe rtsp://username:password@192.168.0.41/live.sdp

As naiv as I am, I tried to put the following line into the web.conf file and restarted the server:

videostream.Web,Video,WebCam=MySpyCam,rtsp://username:password@192.168.0.41/live.sdp

vlc got started. That's it.
The debug.log file showed:
[D:\Programme\VLCPortable\VLC\vlc.exe] INFO 22:13:54.290 Starting D:\Programme\VLCPortable\VLC\vlc.exe -I dummy --dummy-quiet rtsp://username:password@192.168.0.41/live.sdp sout=#transcode{vcodec=mp2v,vb=4096,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2}:duplicate{dst=std{access=file,mux=ts,dst="\\.\pipe\VLC1236896034134"}}

My PS3 doesn't show the stream.

What did I wrong?

Any Hints for me?

Thanx!
peta_kl
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:33 pm

Re: VLC access to rtsp resource w/ username and password failed

Postby shagrath » Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:05 am

I always found transcoding with VLC quite unreliable (but mencoder is not that great either)
try to launch it several times
also, check on status tab if the buffer fills, even with just some kBytes
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: VLC access to rtsp resource w/ username and password failed

Postby peta_kl » Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:27 pm

Thanx for your help!
Unfortunately it doesn't help.
I startet VLC manually, and vie my PS3.
Manually VLC starts perfectLy!
The PS3 request doesn't succeed.
Unfortunately I cannot test it on the same machine since I have no idea how to access the PMS from a WinDows XP Machine. If I only could get a VLC client to access my PMS.
Therefore I cannot debug the problem any further.
For example: I cannot check whether the pipe call from within PMS works or not.

Cheers
peta_kl
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:33 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests