Question about my bitrate!

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Question about my bitrate!

Postby Steefiepie » Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:07 pm

I have been wondering about this for a while now. My current bitrate is around 8 Mb/s, My highest bitrate is 35MB/s. I clearly have no idea if this is average? Is my bitrate too low? Streaming works fine most of the time, lagging a bit sometimes, video freezes for a second and then continues just fine. I'm just wondering if my bitrate is normal? Is there any way to get a higher bitrate without having to upgrade my PC's hardware?

PC specs are
I3 2100 3.1ghz
Nvidia Gforce GTX 650
8 GB RAM

nothing fancy.
Steefiepie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:43 pm

Re: Question about my bitrate!

Postby mazey » Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:14 am

you'll need more info then that, what are you actually streaming to and is it a wired or wireless connection?
PMS 1.90.2 Snapshot - Intel Celeron G1840 2.8Ghz / Asus Z97m-plus / Corsair Vengeance 8GB / Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
mazey
 
Posts: 785
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:07 am

Re: Question about my bitrate!

Postby Steefiepie » Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:35 pm

I am streaming from my PC to my PS3(Not sure if this is what you mean)
It is a wired connection. Connected with a Cat5 cable.
Steefiepie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:43 pm

Re: Question about my bitrate!

Postby mazey » Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:54 pm

Its fine, it depends on what ure streaming also if its a dvd quality it sends alot less bitrate but if its 720 it will be higher as it sends more detail, it's nothing to worry about. i get about the same values. if you have problems with certain files you could set the quality abit lower its set 5-1-2 by default. check transcoding settings, common transcode settings tab.

just a note the graphics card plays no part at all unless your using additional engines by default these are not added/enabled.
PMS 1.90.2 Snapshot - Intel Celeron G1840 2.8Ghz / Asus Z97m-plus / Corsair Vengeance 8GB / Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
mazey
 
Posts: 785
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:07 am

Re: Question about my bitrate!

Postby Steefiepie » Fri Mar 01, 2013 12:32 pm

mazey wrote:Its fine, it depends on what ure streaming also if its a dvd quality it sends alot less bitrate but if its 720 it will be higher as it sends more detail, it's nothing to worry about. i get about the same values. if you have problems with certain files you could set the quality abit lower its set 5-1-2 by default. check transcoding settings, common transcode settings tab.

just a note the graphics card plays no part at all unless your using additional engines by default these are not added/enabled.

Thank you!
Steefiepie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:43 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot], Paradox75 and 10 guests