Selective renderers

If you have a suggestion for a feature, post it here

Selective renderers

Postby Thorning » Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:45 pm

Fist of all, thanks for this nice piece of software!
I've been using the beta ver. 1.20.412 along with my Sony Bravia EX-710, which seems to work rather smooth. Though, a small feature in the next beta could be the option to select whether to search for a PS3/other console, a TV and/or other renderers? This could minimize the duration of the search. And again, this selection could activate different sets of profiles for the different renderers?
Thanks - keep up the good work :)
Thorning
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:29 pm

Re: Selective renderers

Postby mazey » Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:09 pm

i just wish unknown renderer didnt come up on the main status screen and this spam in traces to stop

[New I/O server worker #1-2] TRACE 18:33:29.671 Media renderer was not recognized. HTTP User agent :Microsoft-Windows/6.1 UPnP/1.0 Windows-Media-Player-DMS/12.0.7600.16385 DLNADOC/1.50
[New I/O server worker #1-1] TRACE 18:33:29.702 Media renderer was not recognized. HTTP User agent :Windows-Media-Player-DMS/12.0.7600.16385
[New I/O server worker #1-2] TRACE 18:35:12.152 Media renderer was not recognized. HTTP User agent :FDSSDP
PMS 1.90.2 Snapshot - Intel Celeron G1840 2.8Ghz / Asus Z97m-plus / Corsair Vengeance 8GB / Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
mazey
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:07 am

Re: Selective renderers

Postby otmanix » Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:59 pm

mazey wrote:i just wish unknown renderer didnt come up on the main status screen and this spam in traces to stop

[New I/O server worker #1-2] TRACE 18:33:29.671 Media renderer was not recognized. HTTP User agent :Microsoft-Windows/6.1 UPnP/1.0 Windows-Media-Player-DMS/12.0.7600.16385 DLNADOC/1.50
[New I/O server worker #1-1] TRACE 18:33:29.702 Media renderer was not recognized. HTTP User agent :Windows-Media-Player-DMS/12.0.7600.16385
[New I/O server worker #1-2] TRACE 18:35:12.152 Media renderer was not recognized. HTTP User agent :FDSSDP


Hi mazey, have a look at my post: http://ps3mediaserver.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=9635
I think it's a good idea to keep the "unknown renderers" message in in debug.log because it provides a simple way to get the correct renderer name if you want to create a new renderer conf file. But I suggest to add a dummy conf for WMP. Because almost every Windows user is affected.

Otmanix
I provide NO application support via PM, so please post your question to the forum.
PS3 Media Server related articles on my blog: http://otmanix.de/?cat=11&lang=en
User avatar
otmanix
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:40 am
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Re: Selective renderers

Postby mazey » Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:42 pm

i do not know how to compile java lol, id rather a "hide unknown renderers" tickbox lol.
PMS 1.90.2 Snapshot - Intel Celeron G1840 2.8Ghz / Asus Z97m-plus / Corsair Vengeance 8GB / Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
mazey
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:07 am

Re: Selective renderers

Postby devildog93 » Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:47 pm

mazey wrote:i do not know how to compile java lol, id rather a "hide unknown renderers" tickbox lol.


I second that. There are users, power users, then there are wizards. Most of us fall into the first two categories. :)

And most of the other "renderers" I see are in fact severs themselves.....with no PMS playback compatibility.

In my traces I see Wild Media Server, WMP server, and Tversity server....none of which actually render anything FROM PS3 Media Server.
User avatar
devildog93
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 8:37 pm


Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests