Automatic AVI GMC and QPEL detection and transcoding

If you have a suggestion for a feature, post it here

Automatic AVI GMC and QPEL detection and transcoding

Postby Burrito » Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:59 am

Thanks for PS3 Media Server! Great Software!

I would like to ask if it would be possible for PMS to check AVI files for GMC, QPEL and custom matrix which are all incompatible with the PS3 and transcode accordingly without the need to go into the #Transcode# folder.
Also the compatibility of the muxing method used would need to be checked as some files don't work besides not using above features but do work after i remux them.

Best regards,
Burrito
Burrito
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:41 am

Re: Automatic AVI GMC and QPEL detection and transcoding

Postby Procyon » Thu Mar 05, 2009 12:05 pm

Isn't it possible already? Selecting the MEcoder? Not sure.
Think i agree with you on this, there should be something similar to TVergy ( :? ), where you could choose to automatically transcode, always transcode, or manually (which is what it currently has.)

(There might be an ticket on the - http://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver/issues/list - issues list already and we're here talking about it... :? )
User avatar
Procyon
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 7:11 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Automatic AVI GMC and QPEL detection and transcoding

Postby Burrito » Thu Mar 05, 2009 5:03 pm

To make myself even more clear: I want PMS to display [MEncoder] behind AVI files that use GMC, QPEL and custom Matrix and therefore can't be played on PS3 anyway without transcoding.

But i also want to add: I'm a really happy dog right now with PMS as it is! Best software in years!
Burrito
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:41 am

Re: Automatic AVI GMC and QPEL detection and transcoding

Postby Procyon » Thu Mar 05, 2009 5:11 pm

hmm, got it now.
But it does show... at least on mine it shows [Avisynth/MEncoder] on every file that needs to be transcoded to be correctly played on the PS3. :?
Doesn't it?

EDIT:
hmm, wait... ok, got it. My 'Bleach' avi files give me an error if they aren't transcoded before for the PS3 to play them... i need to enter the #TRANSCODE# folder and choose to play them through there. Think i got what you're saying now. :roll:
User avatar
Procyon
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 7:11 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Automatic AVI GMC and QPEL detection and transcoding

Postby Topguy » Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:44 pm

Procyon wrote:hmm, got it now.
But it does show... at least on mine it shows [Avisynth/MEncoder] on every file that needs to be transcoded to be correctly played on the PS3. :?
Doesn't it?


It may show [Avisynth/MEncoder] on YOUR system, but that is because you have set that transcoder engine as the highest priority, most other people have [MEncoder] I think.
Topguy
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:27 pm

Re: Automatic AVI GMC and QPEL detection and transcoding

Postby Procyon » Fri Mar 06, 2009 6:23 pm

Topguy wrote:It may show [Avisynth/MEncoder] on YOUR system, but that is because you have set that transcoder engine as the highest priority, most other people have [MEncoder] I think.

That's not what's being discussed on the topic mate...

When it comes in [] parentheses it means its being transcoded. But what we're talking about here is the fact that it doesn't auto-detect if the file needs to be transcoded or not to be played correctly on the PS3.
User avatar
Procyon
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 7:11 pm
Location: Portugal


Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests