Web streaming gives "data is corrupt" error

For help and support with issues specific to Linux/Unix
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Web streaming gives "data is corrupt" error

Postby wonslung » Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:23 pm

Hello, i wanted to say how much i love this software. I've got 1080p video transcoding perfectly and all my media files play just fine on my local network.

HOWEVER, i cannot seem to get the web stuff working...

it is in the default configuration still.....do i need to recompile VLC or something? i'm using the one from the medibuntu repositories

thanks

Also, is there any documentation anywhere for the PMS.conf
i run on a headless server so i have no GUI. i was able to piece together my settings for mkv files and avi files just by following suggestions online but a wiki would be awesome. Is there a wiki?
wonslung
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 7:17 am

Re: Web streaming gives "data is corrupt" error

Postby combr » Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:37 pm

I am have same issue too.

Under Linux with 1.10.1 I got "unsupported format" when playing any default radio channel, also channels configured by me.
I try to save incoming stream to WAV file and then move it to ps3 - it plays OK.
(I did it wirh mplayer in command line with options taken from Debug log - 1:1
mplayer http://64.15.67.14:80 -prefer-ipv4 -af channels=2 -srate 44100 -vo null -ao pcm:waveheader:fast:file=mytestfile.wav )

I try to use PMS under windows - and audio streaming works.
In Trace log i see only string like this: "[Thread-NN] TRACE 21:42:23.642 Starting transcode/remux of Smooth Jazz"
When ps3 says "unsupported format" - PMS continue to get data and buffer it.

Some log:
[Thread-59] TRACE 22:05:17.074 Starting transcode/remux of Smooth Jazz
[mkfifo] INFO 22:05:17.127 Starting mkfifo --mode=777 /tmp/javaps3media/mplayer_aud1236449117077
[mplayer] INFO 22:05:17.227 Starting mplayer http://64.15.67.14:80 -prefer-ipv4 -af channels=2 -srate 44100 -vo null -ao pcm:waveheader:fa
st:file=/tmp/javaps3media/mplayer_aud1236449117077 -quiet
[mplayer] INFO 22:05:17.307 Reading pipe: /tmp/javaps3media/mplayer_aud1236449117077
[mplayer] DEBUG 22:05:17.307 Opening file /tmp/javaps3media/mplayer_aud1236449117077 for reading...
[Thread-59] DEBUG 22:05:25.329 Wrote on socket: Content-Type: audio/wav
[Thread-59] DEBUG 22:05:25.330 Wrote on socket: Server: Linux-i386-2.6.28-lks-wks-alt2 UPnP/1.0, PMS
[Thread-59] DEBUG 22:05:25.331 Wrote on socket: Content-Length: 0
[Thread-59] DEBUG 22:05:25.331 Close Connection

See here - connection closed with 0 bytes sent and PS3 says "unsuppoted format" within 2-3 seconds after start.

[mplayer] INFO 22:06:11.685 Attaching thread: mplayer
[Timer-1] DEBUG 22:06:11.685 Buffered Space: 0 bytes
[Thread-65] DEBUG 22:06:11.686 MPlayer dev-SVN-r26470-4.1.2 (C) 2000-2008 MPlayer Team
[Thread-65] DEBUG 22:06:11.687 CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+ (Family: 15, Model: 75, Stepping: 2)

But real playing start only after 45 seconds!
In *Windows* threre no huge caching:

[Thread-223] TRACE 23:51:51.640 Starting transcode/remux of JET FM (French Radio)
[Thread-223] INFO 23:51:51.640 Creating pipe \\.\pipe\mplayer_aud1236369111640
[Thread-224] INFO 23:51:51.640 Waiting for pipe connection \\.\pipe\mplayer_aud1236369111640
[win32/mplayer.exe] INFO 23:51:51.750 Starting d:\Program Files\PS3 Media Server\win32\mplayer.exe http://www.jetfm.asso.fr/site/stream/je
tfm-haut_debit.m3u -prefer-ipv4 -af channels=2 -srate 44100 -vo null -ao pcm:waveheader:fast:file=\\.\pipe\mplayer_aud1236369111640 -quiet
[win32/mplayer.exe] INFO 23:51:51.750 Reading pipe: \\.\pipe\mplayer_aud1236369111640
[win32/mplayer.exe] INFO 23:51:51.875 Attaching thread: win32/mplayer.exe
[Timer-8] DEBUG 23:51:51.875 Buffered Space: 0 bytes
[Thread-228] DEBUG 23:51:51.875 MPlayer Sherpya-SVN-r28311-4.2.5 (C) 2000-2009 MPlayer Team
[Thread-228] DEBUG 23:51:51.875 CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+ (Family: 15, Model: 75, Stepping: 2)

Starting Mplayer and then.....

[Thread-228] DEBUG 23:51:52.781 Cache size set to 320 KBytes
[Thread-228] DEBUG 23:51:52.984 Cache fill: 0.00% (0 bytes)
[Timer-8] DEBUG 23:51:53.875 Buffered Space: 0 bytes
[Thread-228] DEBUG 23:51:54.375 Cache fill: 17.50% (57344 bytes)
[Thread-228] DEBUG 23:51:54.390 AUDIO: 44100 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 128.0 kbit/9.07% (ratio: 16000->176400)
[Thread-228] DEBUG 23:51:54.390 Selected audio codec: [mp3] afm: mp3lib (mp3lib MPEG layer-2, layer-3)
[Thread-228] DEBUG 23:51:54.390 AO: [pcm] 44100Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
[Thread-224] INFO 23:51:54.390 Result of \\.\pipe\mplayer_aud1236369111640 : true
[Thread-228] DEBUG 23:51:54.390 Starting playback...

Starting ! with small buffer (8 Megs on linux but 320 kbytes on Windows)!
Within 1 second instead 45 seconds....
combr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:10 pm

Re: Web streaming gives "data is corrupt" error

Postby shagrath » Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:43 pm

caching will be disabled in the future
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Web streaming gives "data is corrupt" error

Postby combr » Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:50 pm

So, can sone answer, how to:

1. decrease (or set) size of buffer in Linux (I cannot find it in settings via interface)
2. stop streaming when it's not needed (in PSM gui)
3. See some description of pms.conf to write it by hand
4. launch PMS with no gui (any commandline option for it?)
combr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:10 pm

Re: Web streaming gives "data is corrupt" error

Postby jaffar » Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:59 pm

for no GUI start: set "start minimized" from the GUI or add "minimized = true" to PMS.conf, kill it and restart it.
it's also a good idea to unset $DISPLAY (if you have it automatically set, like i do) - otherwise PMS will crash as soon as you close the terminal that started it. i also prefer to run it with "nohup ./PMS.sh &"

i have the same problem for web streams - the process list shows that they are being streamed, but the PS doesn't like them.
jaffar
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 1:34 pm

Re: Web streaming gives "data is corrupt" error

Postby combr » Wed Mar 11, 2009 8:51 pm

Ok, i install 1.10.5 and the cache bug is really resolved, thanks shagrath !

I find that some radios plays good (like audiostream.Web,Radios=101.ru Reggae,http://85.21.79.5:8022/listen.pls)
but some other not (like audiostream.Web,Radios,Gothic=FX-Radio.de,http://www.fx-radio.de/cluster1.m3u ) - it plays like 5x slower than must.

on PC it plays ok ;)
but it is a another issue...
combr
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:10 pm


Return to Linux/Unix Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 3 guests