comvert files to play on ps3?

For help and support with issues specific to Linux/Unix
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

comvert files to play on ps3?

Postby EzZn0 » Wed Jul 22, 2009 5:25 pm

Hello mates! I'm new with all of this mediaserver thing to ps3 so I am wondering if I have to convert files to play on ps3?

I can't find any good transcoding program to ubuntu 9.04 without loosing quality.

I want to copy the files to my ps3 so if I have understand it right I can't have it in .mkv format.

And how do I put the subs in the movie so it plays in the ps3? I want the subs and the movie in 1 file.

Sorry for the noob questions! :oops:
EzZn0

Re: comvert files to play on ps3?

Postby meskibob » Wed Jul 22, 2009 5:35 pm

Most of these have been asked and answered in some version or another on the forum. Next time do some searching.
EzZn0 wrote:Hello mates! I'm new with all of this mediaserver thing to ps3 so I am wondering if I have to convert files to play on ps3?
PMS streams PS3 compatible files and transcodes/remuxes non-compatible files all on the fly. The only reason you would need to preconvert your files is if your computer and/or network can't keep up with the transcode/remux.
EzZn0 wrote:I can't find any good transcoding program to ubuntu 9.04 without loosing quality.
You can losslessly transcode within PMS but it's at a price as far as CPU load and bandwidth.
EzZn0 wrote:I want to copy the files to my ps3 so if I have understand it right I can't have it in .mkv format.
The PS3 won't accept MKVs, so during the copy process PMS actually sends the transcoded version that's PS3 compatible. Note that the file size can be much larger depending on your quality settings.
EzZn0 wrote:And how do I put the subs in the movie so it plays in the ps3? I want the subs and the movie in 1 file.