Multicore x264 not working

For help and support with issues specific to Linux/Unix
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Multicore x264 not working

Postby Rio6000 » Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:30 pm

first ofall thx for this great app! it's really unmissable :D

but i'm having trouble with the multicore stuff...

when i'm in the 'common transcode settings' tab it says its using 4 cores, but in the MEncoder tab the "enhanced multicore support for h264 HD content" is greyd out.
also when i'm transcoding and streaming to my ps3 i only see 1 core beeing used.

I've also tried to recompile mplayer but no effect, I couldnt find anything in ./configure --help which resembles activating it.
i'm on Archlinux 64bit.

i hope someone can help me!

Rio
Rio6000
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:18 pm

Re: Multicore x264 not working

Postby Topguy » Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:38 pm

Here are a method for enabling MT support in mplayer/mencoder.
http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/mythtv/mythtvnz/367722?page=last

But I'm not sure that is enough to enable that greyed out part in the GUI.
Last edited by Topguy on Wed Jan 28, 2009 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Topguy
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:27 pm

Re: Multicore x264 not working

Postby Rio6000 » Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:55 pm

thnx
will try it, i hope there is a more clean way of doing it
i like my Arch clean and mean:P
Rio6000
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:18 pm

Re: Multicore x264 not working

Postby Rio6000 » Wed Jan 28, 2009 5:04 pm

no succes...

i've downloaded the mplayer source package through abs and downloaded the ffmpeg-mt through git, copied the libav folders and let makepkg compile it.

after that i put this in the expert settings dialogue:

vcodec == h264 :: -mt -lavdopts fast : threads=4

still it's not using all four cores.

any ideas?
Rio6000
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:18 pm

Re: Multicore x264 not working

Postby shagrath » Wed Jan 28, 2009 7:04 pm

if you have recompiled mencoder and done a "make install", I guess standard mencoder binary should be multithreaded... so there's nothing to do on PMS side (just select the good number of cores)
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Multicore x264 not working

Postby Topguy » Wed Jan 28, 2009 7:15 pm

Rio6000 wrote:no succes...

i've downloaded the mplayer source package through abs and downloaded the ffmpeg-mt through git, copied the libav folders and let makepkg compile it.

after that i put this in the expert settings dialogue:

vcodec == h264 :: -mt -lavdopts fast : threads=4

still it's not using all four cores.

any ideas?


Have you verified in the debug-log file that the options are used in the mencoder call ? Could you post it here, not all but a least the part where mencoder is called.
Topguy
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:27 pm

Re: Multicore x264 not working

Postby momfer » Fri Jan 30, 2009 10:38 pm

shagrath wrote:if you have recompiled mencoder and done a "make install", I guess standard mencoder binary should be multithreaded... so there's nothing to do on PMS side (just select the good number of cores)


I can confirm a succesfull compile of mencoder multithreaded on Ubuntu and indead just in PMS set the core option to the amount of cores you have.
I see multiple cores doing their work ;-) 1080p works as advertised!!
I see a beautiful Filled Buffer ;-)
momfer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:53 am

Re: Multicore x264 not working

Postby Ashmodai » Sun Feb 01, 2009 2:14 am

Could you please help me with the parameters you chose ? I tried to compile the latest svn together with the ffmpeg-mt libs as mentioned above and the mencoder that results from this does not work with PMS. I mean compilations goes nicely if I run mencoder like this it seems to work but from PMS it always give me corrupted streams message on my PS3 (and no visible errors in PMS ??)

Thanks for your help ! (I am also on Ubuntu 8.04 server 64bits)
Ashmodai
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:05 am

Re: Multicore x264 not working

Postby vmlinuz » Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:03 am

Check this, viewtopic.php?f=3&t=315 perhaps you should pre install all dev libs.
I had to do it to get mencoder working fine without "data corrupted".
Bye.
CPU Intel Q9550 & RAM 4GB Lan : <100Mb/s wired> Router <100Mb/s> <CPL 200Mb/s @ 160Mb/s >=< 100Mb/s> PS3
old config til Feb 22th : Athlon x64 4200+ oc@2.6Gh RAM 4Gb
vmlinuz
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Multicore x264 not working

Postby vmlinuz » Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:09 pm

Ashmodai wrote:Could you please help me with the parameters you chose ? I tried to compile the latest svn together with the ffmpeg-mt libs as mentioned above and the mencoder that results from this does not work with PMS. I mean compilations goes nicely if I run mencoder like this it seems to work but from PMS it always give me corrupted streams message on my PS3 (and no visible errors in PMS ??)

Thanks for your help ! (I am also on Ubuntu 8.04 server 64bits)


I have install and test Ubuntu 8.10 server 64bits, and use the same way than on 32bits install and mencoder compil and work fine.
CPU Intel Q9550 & RAM 4GB Lan : <100Mb/s wired> Router <100Mb/s> <CPL 200Mb/s @ 160Mb/s >=< 100Mb/s> PS3
old config til Feb 22th : Athlon x64 4200+ oc@2.6Gh RAM 4Gb
vmlinuz
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:25 am

Next

Return to Linux/Unix Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 8 guests