Not seeing Java x64 still?

General discussion about PS3 Media Server (no support or requests)

Not seeing Java x64 still?

Postby Simmo » Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:12 am

Hi Shagrath,

Have installed version 1.10.1 on Windows x64 with Java 6u12 x64. When starting PMS it still forces me to download and install the x86 version.

Is it possible to add an option to skip the Java check on startup to avoid this problem?


Cheers, Simmo
Simmo
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:47 am

Re: Not seeing Java x64 still?

Postby shagrath » Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:20 pm

I thought that was fixed some versions ago ...
can you check in your registry, the contents (or the existence) of the following key: SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Not seeing Java x64 still?

Postby Simmo » Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:44 pm

Hi,

The Wow6432Node is for 32bit (x86) software to store information in (if the author doesn't specify directly) - so that would check for existance of the x86 version of Java not the x64 version.

If I install the x86 version - it creates the branch Wow6432Node\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment\1.6 and1.6.0_12 with various entries below it such as JavaHome etc. JavaHome points to c:\Program Files (x86)\Java.

if I install the x64 version - it creates the branch JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment\1.6 and1.6.0_12 and JavaHome points to c:\Program Files\Java.

It could be that WOW64 is redirecting the query incorrectly so maybe worth checking for both or adding a switch to bypass the check just in case.


Cheers, Simmo
Simmo
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:47 am

Re: Not seeing Java x64 still?

Postby shagrath » Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:33 pm

I'm checking both actually... the exe is doing the following:

- check SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment, key "CurrentVersion"
- then check SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment\"CurrentVersion"\JavaHome
- then check the existence of <JavaHome value retrieved>\javaw.exe

and then doing the same with SOFTWARE\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment...
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Not seeing Java x64 still?

Postby Simmo » Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:57 pm

Looking at process monitors capture, it looks like PMS.EXE is doing the following:

- RegOpenKey (CurrentVersion) on HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment

it does this 4 times and gets a NAME NOT FOUND result for all 4 attempts.

I'm guessing that for some reason, WOW64 is redirecting all queries to the 32bit branch (its maybe because the PMS.EXE is a 32bit executable).

Maybe possible to build the PMS.EXE as a 64bit executable to see if that works or disable the check (although disabling the check and loading the wrong Java host may break PMS!)


Cheers, Simmo
Simmo
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:47 am

Re: Not seeing Java x64 still?

Postby shagrath » Sun Mar 08, 2009 2:06 pm

shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Not seeing Java x64 still?

Postby Simmo » Sun Mar 08, 2009 2:35 pm

Works like a dream :)

What did you change in the end?
Simmo
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:47 am

Re: Not seeing Java x64 still?

Postby shagrath » Sun Mar 08, 2009 3:29 pm

Final check... could you redownload the file and retry ? (working for both 32 and 64 bits now)

I used "SetRegView 64" in the nsis library
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Not seeing Java x64 still?

Postby Simmo » Sun Mar 08, 2009 3:46 pm

Working fine :)

Thanks Shagrath youre a star
Simmo
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:47 am

Re: Not seeing Java x64 still?

Postby Simmo » Mon Mar 09, 2009 10:07 am

Hi Shagrath,

It seems to be broken again with 1.10.51 :(

Using the PMS.EXE you posted yesterday as a startup wrapper it works fine though :)


Cheers, Simmo
Simmo
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:47 am

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests