Xbox 360 MKV?

General discussion about PS3 Media Server (no support or requests)

Xbox 360 MKV?

Postby duerra » Tue May 05, 2009 9:42 pm

Hey,
While I am able to get my 1080p MKV files to work great with my PS3, it still seems that PS3MS wants to fully transcode these videos for my XBox 360 (something my hardware isn't capable of handling right now - 2.8 GHz P4 with 1 GB of RAM). Shouldn't the PS3MS be able to repackage these videos similar to how it does for the PS3 and send it in a container that the 360 supports? Is this a feature that we could be expecting in the future? I realize this software is targeted for the PS3, but right now it's currently the best software available for the 360, too!

Thanks :)
duerra
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:47 am

Re: Xbox 360 MKV?

Postby otmanix » Tue May 05, 2009 9:51 pm

You can save CPU resources for transcoding when using avisynth/mencoder transcoding engine combined with coreavc.
http://ps3mediaserver.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2095&p=8785
I provide NO application support via PM, so please post your question to the forum.
PS3 Media Server related articles on my blog: http://otmanix.de/?cat=11&lang=en
User avatar
otmanix
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:40 am
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Re: Xbox 360 MKV?

Postby naominge » Wed May 20, 2009 7:07 am

What is the difference between Xbox 360 Arcade and XBox 360 regular? I just wanna know. I know it can play all xbox 360 games but what if i played like for ex. GTA 4 would it be the same as if it wasnt the arcade system but the regular. I just want to know would it be the same as if the system was like the regular xbox 360 not arcade would the gameplay be the same. That is all i want the system for is games. Thanks.
___________________
affiliateelite ~ affiliateelite.com ~ adgooroo ~ adgooroo.com
Last edited by naominge on Sat May 23, 2009 7:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
naominge
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 10:31 am

Re: Xbox 360 MKV?

Postby jebise101 » Wed May 20, 2009 2:38 pm

the console itself is the same, the difference between arcade and PRO/ELITE is the HDD space and other accessories. with the arcade you will get 256MB built in memory while pro will have a 60GH HDD and elite with 120GB, also you do not get component cables or headset with the arcade. I would go for a pro or elite if it's your first xbox.
jebise101
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 1:59 am

Re: Xbox 360 MKV?

Postby duerra » Wed May 20, 2009 10:38 pm

Is there a way to make tsMuxer work with the XBox 360?
duerra
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:47 am

Re: Xbox 360 MKV?

Postby duerra » Thu May 21, 2009 10:32 pm

Haha, I'm getting the feeling that the answer to that question is no. :)
duerra
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:47 am

Re: Xbox 360 MKV?

Postby johnnyboy007 » Mon May 25, 2009 1:57 am

Think someone needs to nicely ask someone else to code a pezbox360 media server.
johnnyboy007
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 1:40 am

Re: Xbox 360 MKV?

Postby duerra » Tue May 26, 2009 9:52 pm

The only reason I ask is because as I understand it, the XBox supports more codecs than the PS3 does, so it would seem logical to me that the XBox would probably be able to handle a remux and move along its way, similar to how it works for the PS3. I just am not sure if there's a way *I* can do it (kinda like how we can put our own configuration settings in for some other engines), or if I have to wait for it to be officially supported (if ever) by PS3MS. That said, it doesn't seem like an awfully far stretch that PS3MS could handle the XBox in this capacity as well as it does the PS3 without toooo much extra work.
duerra
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:47 am

Re: Xbox 360 MKV?

Postby shagrath » Tue May 26, 2009 10:14 pm

duerra wrote:the XBox supports more codecs than the PS3 does.


:shock:
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Xbox 360 MKV?

Postby duerra » Tue May 26, 2009 11:13 pm

shagrath wrote:
duerra wrote:the XBox supports more codecs than the PS3 does.


:shock:

I'm not claiming that I understand correctly ;) Keep rockin' hard, shagrath. This is the best software I have seen for *any* DLNA compliant client, much less just for the PS3. My only hope is that somebody motivated will come along and submit you some patches to make this software rock as hard on the XBox 360 as it does for the PS3 :) (at least for remuxing, which is my one and only problem with PS3MS!)
duerra
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:47 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests