Playback Location Memory?

General discussion about PS3 Media Server (no support or requests)

Playback Location Memory?

Postby JWS » Fri Mar 29, 2013 6:46 pm

Just curious if PMS has the ability to remember playback location, if you stop a movie & restart it?
I've looked through the playback options on the server & did not see anything like that listed, but then again, I may be using the wrong terms & it is right there in front of my face. :D

THX!

JWS
JWS
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 4:12 pm

Re: Playback Location Memory?

Postby Raptor399 » Fri Mar 29, 2013 7:49 pm

Nope. PMS leaves the 'remembering' bit over to the player, which may request to start the movie from a specific point.
Raptor399
Project Member
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:06 am

Re: Playback Location Memory?

Postby JWS » Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:08 pm

OK, so how to force a PS3 to remember the position or prompt to restart?
My WDTV box does this, which is very handy.
JWS
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 4:12 pm

Re: Playback Location Memory?

Postby Raptor399 » Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:03 am

By default the PS3 automatically remembers the position in a video, and it will try to resume playing from where you stopped. PMS might not support that for some transcoding engines.

If you press triangle, you will get a menu that allows you to play the video from the start.
Raptor399
Project Member
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:06 am

Re: Playback Location Memory?

Postby mazey » Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:05 pm

what ive noticed is ure renderer remembers a certain amount so whether its transcoded or streamed it does not matter. a restart option is usually available or just turn off/on ure device it should playback from beginning. if you turn on/off pms it wont matter.
PMS 1.90.2 SNAPSHOT - HP Proliant Microserver N54L 2.2Ghz - Windows Home Server 2011 (64bit) 8GB - Bravia KDL55HX750
mazey
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:07 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests