New Executable / Help wanted

General discussion about PS3 Media Server (no support or requests)

Re: New Executable / Help wanted

Postby Flak » Sat Mar 28, 2009 11:16 pm

Not sure to put this here or in the beta thread. I am back to using the stable release. Using build 318/618 (whatever it is) with this new executable causes PMS to close without error when playing dvd rips. The current stable release doesn't have this problem. I am going to uninstall 64bit java v13 and try this build again to see if the problem persists. There was nothing unusual in the log either, no errors reported anywhere. The PS3 just pops a error saying the server is no longer available, when I check my file server sure enough PMS is no longer running.

I am ripping my retail dvd collection to my file server using handbrake. I have been playing with mkv and mp4 containers and trying various settings to get the "best" size/quality ratio. I am also just doing a direct copy of the audio so have handbrake set to AC3. I have ripped the same movie about 30 times now. No matter how the rip is done this beta version of PMS just closes without error, randomly during the movie playback... whether playback is being transcoded or played live. When all 30 rips play perfectly fine through the current stable release, I am using the exact same setup on both... only difference I see is that this PMS executable uses the 64bit java installation.




*Also, is it the MP4 container or PMS limiting AC3 to around 384kb?
Flak
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:40 pm

Re: New Executable / Help wanted

Postby HKG » Tue Mar 31, 2009 6:41 pm

I installed x64 java and used the new executable in conjunction with 1.10.619, everything worked fine for a day. The next day I was no longer able to transcode using any decoder in PMS. Uninstalled javax64 for x32 and everything works again. When I look at the log I see a FATAL ERROR concerning concerning memory (I have 6gb)

[Thread-140] DEBUG 10:26:16.326 freeMemory: 16427368
[Thread-140] DEBUG 10:26:16.326 totalMemory: 95485952
[Thread-140] DEBUG 10:26:16.326 maxMemory: 715849728
[Thread-140] DEBUG 10:26:16.326 Extending buffer to 629145600
[Thread-140] TRACE 10:26:16.436 FATAL ERROR: OutOfMemory / dumping stats
[Thread-140] DEBUG 10:26:16.436 freeMemory: 523213488
[Thread-140] DEBUG 10:26:16.436 totalMemory: 577961984
[Thread-140] DEBUG 10:26:16.436 maxMemory: 715849728
[Thread-7] TRACE 10:26:16.436 Sending BYEBYE...
[Thread-7] DEBUG 10:26:16.436 Setting multicast network interface: name:eth2 (Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E GBE NIC) index: 8 addresses:
/192.168.1.100;

[Thread-7] DEBUG 10:26:16.483 Sending message from multicast socket on network interface: name:eth2 (Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E GBE NIC) index: 8 addresses:
/192.168.1.100;

[Thread-7] DEBUG 10:26:16.483 Multicast socket is on interface: /192.168.1.100
[Thread-7] DEBUG 10:26:16.483 Socket Timeout: 0
[Thread-7] DEBUG 10:26:16.483 Socket TTL: 32
[Thread-9] DEBUG 10:26:16.483 Receiving a NOTIFY from [192.168.1.100:54669]
[Thread-9] DEBUG 10:26:16.597 Receiving a NOTIFY from [192.168.1.100:54669]
[Thread-9] DEBUG 10:26:16.864 Receiving a NOTIFY from [192.168.1.100:54669]
[Thread-9] DEBUG 10:26:17.082 Receiving a NOTIFY from [192.168.1.100:54669]
[Thread-147] DEBUG 10:26:17.243 Opened handler on socket Socket[addr=/192.168.1.101,port=50358,localport=5001]
[Thread-147] DEBUG 10:26:17.243 Received on socket: GET /description/fetch HTTP/1.1
[Thread-147] DEBUG 10:26:17.243 Received on socket: Host: 192.168.1.100:5001
[Thread-147] DEBUG 10:26:17.243 Received on socket: Date: Tue, 31 Mar 2009 17:47:16 GMT
[Thread-147] DEBUG 10:26:17.243 Received on socket: User-Agent: UPnP/1.0
[Thread-147] DEBUG 10:26:17.243 Received on socket: X-AV-Client-Info: av=5.0; cn="Sony Computer Entertainment Inc."; mn="PLAYSTATION 3"; mv="1.0";
[Timer-8] DEBUG 10:26:17.437 Buffered Space: 49989632 bytes / inputs: 0
[Thread-139] DEBUG 10:26:17.593 Wrote on socket: Content-Type: video/mpeg
[Thread-9] DEBUG 10:26:17.637 Receiving a NOTIFY from [192.168.1.100:54669]
[Thread-9] DEBUG 10:26:17.882 Receiving a M-SEARCH from [192.168.1.105:1492]
[Thread-9] DEBUG 10:26:17.883 Sending this reply [192.168.1.105:1492]: HTTP/1.1 200 OK<CRLF>CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=1200<CRLF>DATE: Tue, 31 Mar 2009 17:26:17 GMT<CRLF>LOCATION: http://192.168.1.100:5001/description/fetch<CRLF>SERVER: Windows_Vista-amd64-6.0, UPnP/1.0, PMS/1.10.619<CRLF>ST: upnp:rootdevice<CRLF>EXT: <CRLF>USN: uuid:c0f417e5-225d-324e-abee-8c6dba4011f7::upnp:rootdevice<CRLF>Content-Length: 0<CRLF><CRLF>
[Thread-9] DEBUG 10:26:17.945 Receiving a NOTIFY from [192.168.1.100:54669]
[Thread-9] DEBUG 10:26:18.244 Receiving a NOTIFY from [192.168.1.100:54669]
[Thread-9] DEBUG 10:26:18.322 Receiving a NOTIFY from [192.168.1.100:54669]
[Thread-7] INFO 10:26:18.651 Forcing shutdown of all active processes
[Thread-7] DEBUG 10:26:18.651 Forcing shutdown of process java.lang.ProcessImpl@1e646bfb
[Thread-7] INFO 10:26:18.651 Stopping server on host 192.168.1.100 and port 5001...


Any idea how I can increase memory so I can use x64 java?
HKG
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 2:33 am

Re: New Executable / Help wanted

Postby Konceptz » Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:22 pm

HKG,

What OS, motherboard,cpu , memory and how is your memory configured (i.e. 2x3gb? or 3 x1gb chips)?
Konceptz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:19 am

Re: New Executable / Help wanted

Postby HKG » Thu Apr 02, 2009 1:03 am

Core i7 920 OC 3.8ghz
6gb DDR3 ram (3x2Gb) triple channel @ 1600mhz
EVGA x58 SLI mobo
Vista x64
GTX260 GPU
Wired connection Gigabit network
PSM v6
x64 java
Using the executable that correctly utilizes x64 java

I realize I did not explain my problem in detail:
Basically after I installed x64 java everything worked fine for a day then the next day if I tried to transcode any video it would play for a second and then I would get the "Network connection to media server has been lost" and PSM would shut down on my PC, no error messages. Initially Mencoder would still work but Avisynth/Mencoder (using CoreAVC w/CUDA) would give the network connection error. Later mencoder would give the same error message, but videos that did not need transcoding would still work.

I tried reinstalling java x64 and PSM (versions 5 and latest 6) but would still get the same error. After I uninstalled x64 java and installed x32 java everything worked fine again. BTW what are the advantages of using x64 java, I did not notice any performance increases when x64 java was working.
HKG
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 2:33 am

Re: New Executable / Help wanted

Postby Konceptz » Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:24 am

sorry it took so long to get back to you.

Try this.

Uninstall all versions of java. and then go into my computer, C:, then go to programfiles and delete java and PS3 media server folders. Then go to programfiles(x64) and delete the java folder there.
Restart your computer and download and install the 64bit java from here: https://cds.sun.com/is-bin/INTERSHOP.enfinity/WFS/CDS-CDS_Developer-Site/en_US/-/USD/ViewProductDetail-Start?ProductRef=jre-6u13-oth-JPR@CDS-CDS_Developer
Then install the latest version of PS3 Media server from here:http://mogoo.free.fr/files/trunk/pms-setup-windows-1.10.620.exe
Restart your computer
Then launch PS3 media server and try it out.

Using the x64bit lets java and the media server utilize all the ram in your PC should it ever need to use that much(what scenario this would imply is unknown to me). Also in theory it should allow them to access memory faster as its built for 64bit address vs 32bit
Konceptz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:19 am

Re: New Executable / Help wanted

Postby HKG » Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:13 pm

thanks for the reply, I tried uninstalling everything then I ran ccleaner to clean out the registry. Restarted and reinstalled everything but I still have the same issue, network connection error and PSM shuts down on my desktop. Reinstalled x32 java and it works fine. Strange thing is when I first installed x64 java it all worked fine for a day but then I started getting the network connection error and PSM shutting down on any transcode operation.
HKG
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 2:33 am

Re: New Executable / Help wanted

Postby saeba79 » Tue Apr 07, 2009 2:25 am

I just installed Java 64-bit on my machine and had similar issue. Video started playing and then the PS3 Media Server shutdown:

[main] TRACE 18:12:37.062 Starting Java PS3 Media Server v1.10.620
[main] TRACE 18:12:37.064 by shagrath / 2008-2009
[main] TRACE 18:12:37.065 http://ps3mediaserver.blogspot.com
[main] TRACE 18:12:37.065 http://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver
[main] TRACE 18:12:37.065
[main] TRACE 18:12:37.065 Java 1.6.0_13-Sun Microsystems Inc.
[main] TRACE 18:12:37.066 OS Windows Vista amd64 6.0
.
.
.
[Thread-683] DEBUG 18:15:06.881 freeMemory: 52287320
[Thread-683] DEBUG 18:15:06.881 totalMemory: 113508352
[Thread-683] DEBUG 18:15:06.881 maxMemory: 715849728
[Thread-683] DEBUG 18:15:06.881 Extending buffer to 629145600
[Thread-683] TRACE 18:15:07.192 FATAL ERROR: OutOfMemory / dumping stats
[Thread-683] DEBUG 18:15:07.193 freeMemory: 505208720
[Thread-683] DEBUG 18:15:07.193 totalMemory: 560005120
[Thread-683] DEBUG 18:15:07.193 maxMemory: 715849728

Deinstalled Java 64-bit and everything ran fine.

Just saw "Getting 64bit java to work on 64bit Windows". Will try that process to see if it makes a difference. The test at java.com ran fine with 64-bit IE and 64-bit java.
Intel Quad Q6600 2.4ghz, 6gb memory, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, D-Link DAP-1522 Xtreme-N Duo Wireless Bridge/Access Point, PS3 w/40gb, 61" Samsung 1080P DLP TV
saeba79
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 6:52 pm

Re: New Executable / Help wanted

Postby Konceptz » Tue Apr 07, 2009 9:21 am

thats weird, i've never encountered that issue not once since i've started using the program. I'm at a lost for ideas.
Konceptz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:19 am

Re: New Executable / Help wanted

Postby Marcel » Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:02 pm

I ran into a java out-of-memory issue on large files and wanted to see if using the 64-bit java vm would help. After a bit of playing around, I discovered the following:

I have both 32-bit and 64-bit java installed on my machine (vista 64). When I start PMS.exe from the start menu, or as a service, the trace log shows that it uses the 32-bin java.

If, however, I start PMS using the provide PMS.bat file, the trace log shows that the 64-bit java is used.
Marcel
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 5:55 pm

Previous

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests