MKV2vob or PS3Mediaserver

General discussion about PS3 Media Server (no support or requests)

MKV2vob or PS3Mediaserver

Postby Bigmonty » Mon Mar 16, 2009 9:54 am

Hi

I am new PS3mediaserver so go easy on me, however I am a veteran of using MKV2vob.

Just a simple question, I have mainly remuxed (with the odd transcode) all of my Mkvs using Mkv2vob over the last year or so and am generally happy with the quality. What are the advantages od ditching this methond and using PS3mediaserver to do it all on the fly. I see the advantage of doing it on the fly for the odd one or two mkvs that require transcoding but I do not see the advantage for the ones that just require remuxing? I am assuming there is no quality difference??

Thanks in advance.
Bigmonty

Re: MKV2vob or PS3Mediaserver

Postby Audioboxer » Mon Mar 16, 2009 11:43 am

The biggest pro is you get left with untouched MKV files on your PC while MKV2VOB changes are permanent - The output files can sometimes have issues playing back on your PC. Especially if you do the DTS trick, you'll get no audio from your video files through your PC at all.

Obviously if you're copying to an external hard drive or the PS3 hard drive MKV2VOB is the way to go, but for streaming it's much simpler just using PS3MS for most things. For transcoding I would recommend waiting out the lengthy process to transcode with x264 and MKV2VOB if you have a decent PC. PS3MS IIRC uses MPEG2 for quick transcoding which will equal slightly more quality loss.
Audioboxer

Postby dr.eshta » Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:16 am

The one thing I have noticed is that mkv2vob clips my Dolby Digital 5.1 bit rate down to about 488 kbps where the PS3MS keeps it up around 655 kbps. The only real effect is that the audio is slightly louder with the PS3MS. My $0.02
dr.eshta

Postby Audioboxer » Tue Mar 17, 2009 10:56 am