Big media library, very unusable

General discussion about PS3 Media Server (no support or requests)

Big media library, very unusable

Postby gianky69 » Sun Mar 15, 2009 8:43 pm

Hi, I have a very big media library, because I've about 1800 cds ripped as flac. Enabling media library, the database becomes more than 600 MB! and the program really slow down.
When in PS3 with library enabled, I've to wait more than 30s-1m to view my audio files (also using only folders).
Is it possible to do a better response?

PS3 media server works on a dual cpu Atlon x64 4400 with 4GB ram.


Thanks a lot
Gianky
gianky69
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:38 pm

Re: Big media library, very unusable

Postby shagrath » Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:25 am

I didn't try anything bigger than 10Gb of mp3s :p
about the database, you can try to compact it, but I'm note sure it will change something...
it's a hidden feature you can access with the web browser:

http://<ip>:5001/console/

replace the <ip> by your own IP (and 5001 if you eventually changed the port)

then make sure you have enough disk space, and click on compact
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Big media library, very unusable

Postby gianky69 » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:00 am

I'll try compacting, but I think it's a problem about how the data are searched...
I'll report any news as soon as possible!
Thanks,
Gianky
gianky69
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:38 pm

Re: Big media library, very unusable

Postby gianky69 » Wed Mar 18, 2009 3:55 pm

Using http://<ip>:5001/console/ i don't get anything
using http://<ip>:5001/console/compact Ihave a web page but when I click on compact nothing happens!
gianky69
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:38 pm

Re: Big media library, very unusable

Postby shagrath » Wed Mar 18, 2009 6:42 pm

gianky69 wrote:using http://<ip>:5001/console/compact Ihave a web page but when I click on compact nothing happens!


it's unlikely, but the compact process can take ages (especially with a large database like yours)
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Big media library, very unusable

Postby Uridium » Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:16 pm

Have a look at this thread viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1410

I have a 2Tb library; 100Gb of that is music (approx 18k files)

Fix in the thread linked has made browsing nice and fast again.
Uridium
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:22 pm

Re: Big media library, very unusable

Postby shagrath » Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:47 pm

I started to work in this topic... the scan process wasn't optimized at all...
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Big media library, very unusable

Postby gianky69 » Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:08 am

Thanks Shagrath, your software is very good. If you could improve the media library db browsing it will be perfect!!!
gianky69
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:38 pm

Re: Big media library, very unusable

Postby shagrath » Sun Mar 29, 2009 8:00 pm

Now it's fast :p
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Big media library, very unusable

Postby gianky69 » Wed Apr 01, 2009 7:04 pm

Good speed now, but an error occur:
if I go in Navigation/Share settings tab and I click "scan the shared folders" (lens icon) with enable media library checked, the program start scanning my first directory, but when it has to change directory all I get is this error:

[Thread-13] TRACE 19:58:06.926 Exception in thread "Thread-13" java.util.ConcurrentModificationException
[Thread-13] TRACE 19:58:06.926 at java.util.AbstractList$Itr.checkForComodification(Unknown Source)
[Thread-13] TRACE 19:58:06.926 at java.util.AbstractList$Itr.next(Unknown Source)
[Thread-13] TRACE 19:58:06.941 at net.pms.dlna.RootFolder.scan(RootFolder.java:94)
[Thread-13] TRACE 19:58:06.941 at net.pms.dlna.RootFolder.scan(RootFolder.java:82)
[Thread-13] TRACE 19:58:06.941 at net.pms.dlna.DLNAMediaDatabase.run(DLNAMediaDatabase.java:576)
[Thread-13] TRACE 19:58:06.941 at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

The program seems working, but the database is not implementing. So restarting the program nothing changes, also in Task Manager another jawaw.exe process starts without closing the first on.

Could you check this, please?
gianky69
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 4:38 pm

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests