PANASONIC TV with enabled MediaInfo doesn't work

Discuss alternative media renderers (not PS3) supported by PS3 Media Server (e.g. Xbox 360, TVs &c.)

Re: PANASONIC TV with enabled MediaInfo doesn't work

Postby tomeko » Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:46 pm

From trace file:
1. TV is asking for 20 items strating with index 0:
Code: Select all
<u:Browse xmlns:u="urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:ContentDirectory:1">
 <ObjectID>0</ObjectID>
  <BrowseFlag>BrowseDirectChildren</BrowseFlag>
   <Filter>dc:title,dc:date,res,res@protocolInfo,res@size,res@duration,res@resolution,res@dlna:ifoFileURI,res@pv:subtitleFileType,res@pv:subtitleFileUri,upnp:albumArtURI,upnp:album,upnp:artist</Filter>
   <StartingIndex>0</StartingIndex>
   <RequestedCount>20</RequestedCount>
   <SortCriteria></SortCriteria>
  </u:Browse>

and getting response: 2 fom 21 elements
Code: Select all
<u:BrowseResponse xmlns:u="urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:ContentDirectory:1">
   <Result>
      <DIDL-Lite xmlns="urn:schemas-upnp-org:metadata-1-0/DIDL-Lite/" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:upnp="urn:schemas-upnp-org:metadata-1-0/upnp/">
         <container id="0$0" childCount="0" parentID="0" restricted="true">
            <dc:title>empty</dc:title>
            <res protocolInfo="http-get:*:image/jpeg:DLNA.ORG_PN=JPEG_TN">http://192.168.1.3:13333/get/0$0/thumbnail0000empty</res>
            <dc:date>2011-02-15T16:15:35</dc:date>
            <upnp:class>object.container.storageFolder</upnp:class>
         </container>
         <container id="0$1" childCount="8" parentID="0" restricted="true">
            <dc:title>#- Video Settings -#</dc:title>
            <res protocolInfo="http-get:*:image/jpeg:DLNA.ORG_PN=JPEG_TN">http://192.168.1.3:13333/get/0$1/thumbnail0000%23-+Video+Settings+-%23</res>
            <upnp:class>object.container.storageFolder</upnp:class>
         </container>
      </DIDL-Lite>
   </Result>
   <NumberReturned>2</NumberReturned>
   <TotalMatches>21</TotalMatches>
   <UpdateID>1</UpdateID>
</u:BrowseResponse>

2. TV is asking for remaining 18 items strating with index 2:
Code: Select all
<u:Browse xmlns:u="urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:ContentDirectory:1">
   <ObjectID>0</ObjectID>
   <BrowseFlag>BrowseDirectChildren</BrowseFlag>
   <Filter>dc:title,dc:date,res,res@protocolInfo,res@size,res@duration,res@resolution,res@dlna:ifoFileURI,res@pv:subtitleFileType,res@pv:subtitleFileUri,upnp:albumArtURI,upnp:album,upnp:artist</Filter>
   <StartingIndex>2</StartingIndex>
   <RequestedCount>18</RequestedCount>
   <SortCriteria></SortCriteria>
</u:Browse>

and getting response: 0 fom 2 elements:
Code: Select all
<u:BrowseResponse xmlns:u="urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:ContentDirectory:1">
   <Result>
      <DIDL-Lite xmlns="urn:schemas-upnp-org:metadata-1-0/DIDL-Lite/" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:upnp="urn:schemas-upnp-org:metadata-1-0/upnp/"></DIDL-Lite>
   </Result>
   <NumberReturned>0</NumberReturned>
   <TotalMatches>2</TotalMatches>
   <UpdateID>1</UpdateID>
</u:BrowseResponse>

3. TV returning to point 1.

PMS resonse is upnp protocol voliation that PANASONC TV didn't like.(discussed on http://ps3mediaserver.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=2099&start=380). Try change RequsetV2.java line 449 from
Code: Select all
totalCount = startingIndex;

to
Code: Select all
totalCount = 0;

maybe next mediaRenderer.isPS3() is required
tomeko
Project Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:02 am

Re: PANASONIC TV with enabled MediaInfo doesn't work

Postby ExSport » Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:38 am

Many thanks for help, will test it today.
But why PS3 wants startingIndex and other renderers 0? PS3 don't like zero?
In r397 zero was introduced and in r399 changed to startingIndex --> changelog was: Better DLNA files,folder management 8-)
OK I will use this change to be sure PS3 streaming will not be broken(hope other renderers like 0 value):
Code: Select all
if (filessize - minus <= 0) { // if no more elements, send the startingIndex for PS3 and 0 for other renderers
   if (mediaRenderer.isPS3())
      totalCount = startingIndex;
   else
      totalCount = 0;
}

Hopefully will let you know this evening.
Again, many thanks!
ExSport
 
Posts: 2168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: PANASONIC TV with enabled MediaInfo doesn't work

Postby tomeko » Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:45 pm

If this not help, you can test with permanent set totalCount=0 (should be more compliant with upnp spec.):
Code: Select all
if (filessize - minus <= 0) // if no more elements, send the startingIndex
   totalCount = startingIndex;
if (!mediaRenderer.isPS3())
   totalCount=0;
response.append("<TotalMatches>" + totalCount + "</TotalMatches>");
tomeko
Project Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:02 am

Re: PANASONIC TV with enabled MediaInfo doesn't work

Postby ExSport » Thu Feb 17, 2011 4:48 pm

Your code will set totalCount = 0 always (except PS3), not only when (filesize - minus <= 0).
It means
Code: Select all
int totalCount = startingIndex + requestCount + 1; // returns 11 when 10 asked
is always rewritten with 0 for all non Ps3 renderers.
It is a bug or you want to say that totalCount = 0 in any situations is DLNA correct? Also in case full file list is not already listed and PMS sends missing ones to renderer?
Thx
ExSport
 
Posts: 2168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: PANASONIC TV with enabled MediaInfo doesn't work

Postby tomeko » Thu Feb 17, 2011 4:54 pm

From upnp spec. (http://www.upnp.org/standardizeddcps/documents/ContentDirectory1.0.pdf, 2.7.4.2):
If the CDS cannot compute TotalMatches and NumberReturned is not equal to zero, then TotalMatches = 0.

TotalMatches can be 0 if unknown.
tomeko
Project Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:02 am

Re: PANASONIC TV with enabled MediaInfo doesn't work

Postby ExSport » Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:59 pm

Thanks for info
So my patch doesn't work and unfortunatelly your patch too. :(
My is spaming again and your is the opposite. Because debug.log was almost empty I created also Wireshark capture for your patch variant.
Many thanks for any other suggestions 8-)
http://www.mediafire.com/?xt5is5b8i4gyu8h
Please ignore IP 192.168.1.13, it is another Panasonic TV which did nothing when debuging.
ExSport
 
Posts: 2168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: PANASONIC TV with enabled MediaInfo doesn't work

Postby shagrath » Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:22 pm

yeah guess the TV doesn't like the hack (though it's working surprisingly well on other renderers).
It's a tricky problem. I already switched from totalCount = 0; to totalCount = startingIndex; If I remember some renderers didn't like it (see revision 397 to 399) - >and according to your new log, the TV is one of those
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: PANASONIC TV with enabled MediaInfo doesn't work

Postby tomeko » Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:45 pm

Try this:
Code: Select all
int totalCount = startingIndex + requestCount + 1; // returns 11 when 10 asked
// Test:
if (filessize < requestCount)
   totalCount = startingIndex + filessize - minus;
if (filessize - minus <= 0) // if no more elements, send the startingIndex
   totalCount = startingIndex;
response.append("<TotalMatches>" + totalCount + "</TotalMatches>");
tomeko
Project Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:02 am

Re: PANASONIC TV with enabled MediaInfo doesn't work

Postby ExSport » Thu Feb 17, 2011 9:48 pm

Compiled it now but can't try it until tomorrow.
Many thanks for other tip and your patience :)
Shagrath:
In r397 zero was introduced and in r399 changed to startingIndex --> changelog was: Better DLNA files,folder management

Already stated it here posting.php?mode=reply&f=15&t=9882#pr45467 but it seems both variants doesn't work with MediaInfo=true on Panasonic TV. But when MediaInfo=false, it works! :?
ExSport
 
Posts: 2168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: PANASONIC TV with enabled MediaInfo doesn't work

Postby shagrath » Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:14 am

ExSport wrote:Already stated it here posting.php?mode=reply&f=15&t=9882#pr45467 but it seems both variants doesn't work with MediaInfo=true on Panasonic TV. But when MediaInfo=false, it works! :?


yeah but with mediainfo=false, your DLNA tree is already computed before the first response is sent to the TV, so it's easy to send right parameters.
mediainfo=true speed up browsing but can introduce some nasty side effects like this one
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Alternative Media Renderers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Pikmin and 4 guests