Bravia sudden bandwith drop

Discuss alternative media renderers (not PS3) supported by PS3 Media Server (e.g. Xbox 360, TVs &c.)

Bravia sudden bandwith drop

Postby el_flurko » Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:20 pm

Hello!

First of all I want to thank you for such a great program!

For more than a week I am using the 1.20.412 PMS program to stream music, video and pictures to my brandnew Sony Bravia KDL-40EX710.
From the first try on, this worked perfectly and PMS found the Bravia tv without problems, with indication of "Speed: 25 Mb/s". So I was able to stream all kind of video files perfectly (with transcoding setting as 'good quality'). Sometimes the speed would increase to 26 Mb/s, sometimes to 24 Mb/s.

Today, without any changes to the tv and/or pc configuration, I only get "Speed: 1 Mb/s". The consequence is obvious: I can no longer stream any kind of video without lots of delays and pictures that came up in seconds now take longer than a minute to load. After multiple restarts of my pc, re-installations of PMS, factory settings of the Bravia, ... I keep getting this same max speed, never more! This really confuses me, as with the first try last week, everything was directly ok (and nothing changed!).

I checked the internet speed of the TV and there are no problems (or differences). Same for my home network, which has the same speed as before... I also tried installing PMS on different computers, but same result everywhere: "Speed: 1 Mb/s".

I searched and searched for information and heard/saw lots of solutions, but nothing helped or was useful in this case, because the program works, but not anymore as before!


Does anyone know how this is possible? How is the speed calculated? Something happened 'inside' my tv all of a sudden (because all other components have all been checked: wireless-wired, different pc, different cables, ...)?


My Trace log:
Code: Select all
[main] TRACE 22:04:10.937 Starting Java PS3 Media Server v1.20.412
[main] TRACE 22:04:10.937 by shagrath / 2008-2010
[main] TRACE 22:04:10.937 http://ps3mediaserver.blogspot.com
[main] TRACE 22:04:10.937 http://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver
[main] TRACE 22:04:10.937
[main] TRACE 22:04:10.937 Java 1.6.0_17-Sun Microsystems Inc.
[main] TRACE 22:04:10.937 OS Windows XP x86 5.1
[main] TRACE 22:04:10.937 Encoding: UTF-8
[main] TRACE 22:04:10.937 Temp folder: C:\DOCUME~1\be328128\LOCALS~1\Temp\javaps3media
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.125 Loading configuration file: Bravia4500.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.140 Loading configuration file: Bravia5500.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.140 Loading configuration file: BraviaEX.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.140 Loading configuration file: FreeboxHD.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.140 Loading configuration file: FreecomMusicPal.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.156 Loading configuration file: Kuro.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.156 Loading configuration file: Philips.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.156 Loading configuration file: PopcornHour.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.156 Loading configuration file: PS3.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.156 Loading configuration file: Realtek.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.156 Loading configuration file: Samsung.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.156 Loading configuration file: Streamium.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.171 Loading configuration file: WDTVLive.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.171 Loading configuration file: XBMC.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.171 Loading configuration file: XBOX360.conf
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.171 Checking font cache... launching simple instance of MPlayer... You may have to wait 60 seconds !
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.562 Done!
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.562 Found VideoLAN version 1.0.5 at: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.562 Unfortunately, VideoLAN 1.x is not supported at this point. Last known working version is 0.98
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.562 AVISynth not found! Transcoder profile AviSynth/FFmpeg will not be used!
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.578 Registering transcoding engine FFmpeg Audio
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.578 Registering transcoding engine MEncoder
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.578 AVISynth not found! Transcoder profile Avisynth/MEncoder will not be used!
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.578 Registering transcoding engine MPlayer Audio
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.578 Registering transcoding engine MEncoder Web
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.578 Registering transcoding engine MPlayer Video Dump
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.578 Registering transcoding engine MPlayer Web
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.593 Registering transcoding engine TsMuxer
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.593 Registering transcoding engine Audio High Fidelity
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.593 Registering transcoding engine VideoLan Audio Streaming
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.593 Registering transcoding engine VideoLan Video Streaming
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.593 Registering transcoding engine FFmpeg DVR-MS Remux
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.593 Registering transcoding engine Raws Thumbnailer
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.593 AviSynth in not installed ! You cannot use avsmencoder as transcoding engine !
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.796 Scanning network interface lo / MS TCP Loopback interface
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.796 Scanning network interface eth0 / Juniper Network Connect Virtual Adapter
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.796 Scanning network interface eth1 / Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.796 Using address /94.224.102.33 found on network interface: name:eth1 (Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter) index: 65540 addresses: /94.224.102.33;
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.796 Created socket: /94.224.102.33:5001
[main] TRACE 22:04:11.875 Using following UUID: bb929ae0-1e94-3483-aa7b-7a0afd4b71f7
[New I/O server worker #1-1] TRACE 22:04:14.437 Renderer Sony Bravia EX Series found on this address: /84.195.162.206
[New I/O server worker #1-1] TRACE 22:04:16.437 Renderer Sony Bravia EX Series have an estimated network speed of: 1 Mb/s
[main] TRACE 22:04:17.687 It's ready! You should see the server appears on XMB


Thanks!
el_flurko
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: Bravia sudden bandwith drop

Postby el_flurko » Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:30 am

hmm... Today all works fine again! Really weird :-) Maybe it's due to an iPhone that took most of the bandwith for some unknown reasons... ?

In any case, I'm still not sure how the speed is being calculated... Maybe if I know this, then I can look further to avoid this in the future.

Thanks
el_flurko
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: Bravia sudden bandwith drop

Postby mazey » Mon Jan 10, 2011 4:19 am

el_flurko wrote:hmm... Today all works fine again! Really weird :-) Maybe it's due to an iPhone that took most of the bandwith for some unknown reasons... ?

In any case, I'm still not sure how the speed is being calculated... Maybe if I know this, then I can look further to avoid this in the future.

Thanks


its just a estimate its being calculated by using ping.
PMS 1.90.2 SNAPSHOT - HP Proliant Microserver N54L 2.2Ghz - Windows Home Server 2011 (64bit) 8GB - Bravia KDL55HX750
mazey
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:07 am


Return to Alternative Media Renderers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests