Official thread for non-ps3 renderers (Bravia, etc.)

Discuss alternative media renderers (not PS3) supported by PS3 Media Server (e.g. Xbox 360, TVs &c.)

Re: Official thread for non-ps3 renderers (Bravia, etc.)

Postby ps3ForMyLg » Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:24 pm

Hi,

Is anybody able to help me getting PS3 MediaServer running with LG BD-390 BluRay player?
The LG supports generally media server streams.
I am using a conf file for LG 390 posted in this thread.
The PS3 media server recognizes the LG properly and vice versa.
When I select a movie on the LG to be played, the screen went black and LG crashes after a period of time.

Has anybody an idea what could cause this problem?

Regards

Jens
ps3ForMyLg
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:33 am

Re: Official thread for non-ps3 renderers (Bravia, etc.)

Postby Magna Jet Convoy » Sun Apr 25, 2010 12:34 pm

Hello all,

Some time ago I posted a request for a Bravia config file in this post here;

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4585&p=20577&hilit=bravia+XBR#p20577

I'm still having the same difficulties as mentioned previously. (are currently using vs. 381)

Is any one able to create (or give me instructions) on how to create a Bravia config file for my specific model TV please?

It would be nice to not have the endless message of "Media Renderer not recognised" as well as having a nice little pic of my version TV instead of the generic "unknown renderer" pic.

I've seen in previous posts that other versions of Bravia are well catered for and was hoping someone could help me out...

In an interesting twist, PS3 Media Server recognises the 2 new Sony Ericsson phones that are currently in my home :D

It even streams directly one of them, the Aino.

Nice one Shagrath!!!

Regards,
MJC
Magna Jet Convoy
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:01 am

Re: Official thread for non-ps3 renderers (Bravia, etc.)

Postby Hyde » Sun Apr 25, 2010 8:40 pm

Hyde wrote:Newbie owner of a PS3 and KDL-40Z5800.

PS3 streams all my content really very well from my WHS to the TV, but occasionaly I'd just like to view photo's on the TV without having to fire up the PS3.

Is there an idiots guide (and I mean idiot!) to the steps necessary to tweak PS3MS to allow it to talk to the TV directly?

I've tried reading the 1st 15 pages of this thread and searching for my model of Bravia TV. Neither returned anything I could make any sense of sorry :(

Thanks in advance
Hyde.
Well that was simple. Just installed the latest beta and all is well. Okay it says the TV is a 5500 and not a 5800, but the important thing is that the TV can now see my WHS directly without having to have the PS3 switched on. Cool 8-)
Sony Bravia KDL-40Z5800
PS3 Slim 250GB & PMS 1.72.0
Tranquil WHS (Intel Atom 230 / 1.60GHz / 1GB RAM)
Hyde
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:01 pm

Re: Official thread for non-ps3 renderers (Bravia, etc.)

Postby Magna Jet Convoy » Mon Apr 26, 2010 1:51 am

P.S; I ran the Device Spy tool to identify relevent info for my XBR45.

Info is as follows;

http-get:*:image/jpeg:DLNA.ORG_PN=JPEG_SM;DLNA.ORG_FLAGS=8cf00000000000000000000000000000,http-get:*:image/jpeg:DLNA.ORG_PN=JPEG_MED;DLNA.ORG_FLAGS=8cf00000000000000000000000000000,http-get:*:image/jpeg:DLNA.ORG_PN=JPEG_LRG;DLNA.ORG_FLAGS=8cf00000000000000000000000000000,http-get:*:audio/mpeg:DLNA.ORG_PN=MP3;DLNA.ORG_FLAGS=8d700000000000000000000000000000,http-get:*:audio/L16:DLNA.ORG_PN=LPCM;DLNA.ORG_FLAGS=8d700000000000000000000000000000

Regards,
MJC
Magna Jet Convoy
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:01 am

Re: Official thread for non-ps3 renderers (Bravia, etc.)

Postby tent » Mon Apr 26, 2010 2:44 pm

Hi all,
not so sure about this question but I'll try: is it possible to upscale videos to 1024p to my sony bravia 5800 with PS3MS?

I mean is it just a matter of selecting "Use video scaler" in mencoder and I should get also smaller 640x400 avi files upscaled to FullHD in my 5800 Sony?

It does not seem to work.. what other requirements should I meet (bandwidth? memory allocation? btw with wired cross cable I can get maximum 47Mb/s bandwidth.. is this normal?).

Kr,
tent:wq

PS: this last beta 1.20-409 really rocks on my TV now! And I also agree that some further configuration file customization should be made to fine tune the config for specific sony series (5xxx, 4xxx or XBR4 series, etc.). If you have some test videos I could help you to test for this reason, I certainly would like to!
tent
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 2:32 pm

Re: Official thread for non-ps3 renderers (Bravia, etc.)

Postby Stockel1949 » Tue Apr 27, 2010 4:10 pm

Stockel1949 wrote:Simple question: when I use PS3 MEDIA SERVER with my Sony Bravia is it necessary to load the "conf." files for other media.
In one word, can I rename the other ".conf" files to improve the start and the used memory ?


Don't see any answer. :?
User avatar
Stockel1949
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Official thread for non-ps3 renderers (Bravia, etc.)

Postby Hyde » Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:15 pm

tent wrote:Hi all,
not so sure about this question but I'll try: is it possible to upscale videos to 1024p to my sony bravia 5800 with PS3MS?

I mean is it just a matter of selecting "Use video scaler" in mencoder and I should get also smaller 640x400 avi files upscaled to FullHD in my 5800 Sony?

It does not seem to work.. what other requirements should I meet (bandwidth? memory allocation? btw with wired cross cable I can get maximum 47Mb/s bandwidth.. is this normal?).

Kr,
tent:wq

PS: this last beta 1.20-409 really rocks on my TV now! And I also agree that some further configuration file customization should be made to fine tune the config for specific sony series (5xxx, 4xxx or XBR4 series, etc.). If you have some test videos I could help you to test for this reason, I certainly would like to!
Ithink I just used the 5800 "Options" setting to display content full screen. Trouble is I can't find the specific setting now :oops: I certainly didn't change anything in mencoder. So all my Nokia N95/97 movies play full screen and are very watchable. Only issue I have currently is PS3MS reports a much slower wired connection to the TV than it does for my PS3/WHS wired connection and yet all are wired through the same routers ethernet switch :?
Sony Bravia KDL-40Z5800
PS3 Slim 250GB & PMS 1.72.0
Tranquil WHS (Intel Atom 230 / 1.60GHz / 1GB RAM)
Hyde
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:01 pm

Re: Official thread for non-ps3 renderers (Bravia, etc.)

Postby petar » Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:12 am

Hi there,

Has anyone got their LG BD390 working with PS3 Media Server? If so, what did you need to do in order to get it working?

Thanks,
Petar
petar
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:10 am

Re: Official thread for non-ps3 renderers (Bravia, etc.)

Postby tent » Thu Apr 29, 2010 1:40 pm

Hyde wrote:
tent wrote:Hi all,
not so sure about this question but I'll try: is it possible to upscale videos to 1024p to my sony bravia 5800 with PS3MS?

I mean is it just a matter of selecting "Use video scaler" in mencoder and I should get also smaller 640x400 avi files upscaled to FullHD in my 5800 Sony?

It does not seem to work.. what other requirements should I meet (bandwidth? memory allocation? btw with wired cross cable I can get maximum 47Mb/s bandwidth.. is this normal?).

Kr,
tent:wq

PS: this last beta 1.20-409 really rocks on my TV now! And I also agree that some further configuration file customization should be made to fine tune the config for specific sony series (5xxx, 4xxx or XBR4 series, etc.). If you have some test videos I could help you to test for this reason, I certainly would like to!
Ithink I just used the 5800 "Options" setting to display content full screen. Trouble is I can't find the specific setting now :oops: I certainly didn't change anything in mencoder. So all my Nokia N95/97 movies play full screen and are very watchable. Only issue I have currently is PS3MS reports a much slower wired connection to the TV than it does for my PS3/WHS wired connection and yet all are wired through the same routers ethernet switch :?


Hi Hyde!
and how did you do that? I mean is it some separate .conf file you downloaded somewhere around this forum and used for 5800 or is it some setting I have to find somewhere hidden in the PS3MS release?
Anyway I also tried using "scaler" option in Mencoder, but how do I understand if I get an upscaled stream? If I check the options>file information> I get original format of the .avi file....
And yes, I confirm that also for me the somehow autodetected bandwidth reported even if using a 1Gb connection through an ethernet cross cable is always somewhere beteen 40 and 50 Mbps, not even clear depending on what.. ;)

tent:wq
tent
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 2:32 pm

Re: Official thread for non-ps3 renderers (Bravia, etc.)

Postby Hyde » Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:21 pm

Downloaded the latest beta (1.20.409) which came with a set of .conf files, one of which was for a W5500 Bravia. That appears to work with my Z5800 too. I made a couple of text changes to make it 'look' like it was designed for a Z5800, but other than left the .conf file as it was.

The slow connection to the TV is now starting to be a problem. With only 43Mbps video stops and starts, photo's are fine, which in truth was my only need as I wanted something quick and dirty for that. If we're going to watch video's then we'll do that via the PS3 itself which is getting 93Mbps. So the slow speed to the TV whilst niggling, isn't a show stopper for me at least.

If anyone knows of a way that I can provide diagnostics to improve the connection speed to the TV then I'm happy to help, just need instructions, detailed instructions ;-)
Sony Bravia KDL-40Z5800
PS3 Slim 250GB & PMS 1.72.0
Tranquil WHS (Intel Atom 230 / 1.60GHz / 1GB RAM)
Hyde
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:01 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Alternative Media Renderers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests