Official thread for non-ps3 renderers (Bravia, etc.)

Discuss alternative media renderers (not PS3) supported by PS3 Media Server (e.g. Xbox 360, TVs &c.)

Re: Has anyone tested other streaming clients with new PMS 1.11?

Postby shagrath » Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:28 pm

ok, I'm doing some changes according to those findings:

1- Next build will include the tomeko's patch about the north american, europe, etc. flavor of some dlna constants. Actually I also included an automatic change driven by recognition of the computer's country (so most users, like the north american ones shouldn't have to use the DLNAProfileChanges parameter)

2- Current build does not support http chunked response, it's something I had included initially but I got some troubles playing TS files, need to debug this one

3- I'm also investigating the "Accept-Range: bytes" response and its impacts. Actually, the xbox renderer need this as well, but it's hard coded in the server
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Has anyone tested other streaming clients with new PMS 1.11?

Postby shagrath » Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:50 pm

OK, it's a Netty bug, I need to file a bug report now :p
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Has anyone tested other streaming clients with new PMS 1.11?

Postby navi » Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:51 am

I also have a Philips LCD Tv that I would like to get working with PMS. The model is: 32pfl8404H. I have created a config file (see attached). The Tv is recognised and I can browse folders and play certain files. According to Philips the 42" version of the tv can natively play the following files, so I assume the 32" is similar:

http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/faqview?subrequest=1&mid=Link_FAQs&session=20090925032031_78.109.14.130&desc=Philips+LCD+TV+42PFL8404H+42"+Full+HD+1080p+digital+TV+with+Ambilight+Spectra+and+Pixel+Precise+HD&view=aa12_view_full.html&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=ENG&refnr=0074893&refdisplay=MTV_LCD_E_TV543_QAC_74893&dct=QAC&ctn=42PFL8404H/12

I have several Tv episodes with .mp4 file extension. GSpot reports them as Video: H.264/MPEG-4 AVC and Audio: mp4a: MPEG-4 AAC LC.

These files play with no issues through the tv's usb connection. However when I stream them using PMS, the files play normally for roughly 25 seconds and then start to stutter and freeze badly. When I check the network utilisation on the streaming machine it is using between 18 and 30 Mbps. According to GSpot the highest bitrate of any of these files is 3718 kbps. The files are not being transcoded by PMS as I have set "StreamExtensions=mp4" in the config file.

Does anyone have any idea why the network utilisation is so high? It seems the tv is being swamped by the data.

1- Your computer specs: Vista Home Premium, Core2Duo 2.33GHz, 3GB Ram, PMS v1.11.356
2- Your local network setup: 100mbit ethernet, connected through Linksys WRT54G router
3- Device you are streaming to: Philips 32pfl8404h tv
4- Not transcoding
5- Detailed information on what's not working: see above

Thanks.
Attachments
Philips.zip
(470 Bytes) Downloaded 117 times
navi
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:26 am

Re: Has anyone tested other streaming clients with new PMS 1.11?

Postby shagrath » Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:15 pm

Here's a new build, r363: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3217

I added the following:

- Support of HTTP chunk encoding (from the client side)
- Regional profiles support for Bravia TVs
- New renderer parameter (see 'TranscodedVideoFileSize', for Samsung/Philips TVs maybe)


so, in your Samsung.conf file and other ones, feel free to play with the TranscodedVideoFileSize parameter (-1, 0, 100000000000, whatever :p)
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Has anyone tested other streaming clients with new PMS 1.11?

Postby karl123 » Fri Oct 09, 2009 10:57 pm

shagrath wrote:Here's a new build, r363: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3217

I added the following:

- Support of HTTP chunk encoding (from the client side)
- Regional profiles support for Bravia TVs
- New renderer parameter (see 'TranscodedVideoFileSize', for Samsung/Philips TVs maybe)


so, in your Samsung.conf file and other ones, feel free to play with the TranscodedVideoFileSize parameter (-1, 0, 100000000000, whatever :p)


Did do some quick test and played with the new parameters, but problem on Philips Auread TV is NOT solved and the behaviour did not change.
See http://ps3mediaserver.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2099&start=210#p17301 :
A stream that has been transcoded manually plays OK (outside #Transcode# folder), but a real-time transcoded stream stops directly or after few seconds black screen.
The Traces tab report the start of the Transcodings. Will do some further testing...

A small detail: the Traces reports a Config: Null:
Code: Select all
[main] TRACE 23:44:25.125 Loading configuration file: PS3.conf
[main] TRACE 23:44:25.140 Config: null

Is this significant?
karl123
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 6:57 am

Re: Has anyone tested other streaming clients with new PMS 1.11?

Postby ExSport » Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:00 am

shagrath wrote:Here's a new build, r363: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3217
I added the following:
- Support of HTTP chunk encoding (from the client side)
- Regional profiles support for Bravia TVs
- New renderer parameter (see 'TranscodedVideoFileSize', for Samsung/Philips TVs maybe)
so, in your Samsung.conf file and other ones, feel free to play with the TranscodedVideoFileSize parameter (-1, 0, 100000000000, whatever :p)

Tried
Code: Select all
TranscodedVideoFileSize=0
on fat PS3 with FW v3.01 and didn't found any problems...
Please can you more deeply describe how can I reproduce problem you mentioned and because that you used -1 which broke DNLA compliance?
Many thanks
ExSport
 
Posts: 2168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: Has anyone tested other streaming clients with new PMS 1.11?

Postby tomeko » Sat Oct 10, 2009 2:44 pm

shagrath wrote:so, in your Samsung.conf file and other ones, feel free to play with the TranscodedVideoFileSize parameter (-1, 0, 100000000000, whatever :p)

max value is 281474976710655 (2^48-1) :)

karl123 wrote:Did do some quick test and played with the new parameters, but problem on Philips Auread TV is NOT solved and the behaviour did not change.

Have you set TranscodedVideoFileSize=100000000000 or other value?
tomeko
Project Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:02 am

Re: Has anyone tested other streaming clients with new PMS 1.11?

Postby gustavoas » Sat Oct 10, 2009 3:55 pm

shagrath wrote:Here's a new build, r363: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3217

I added the following:

- Support of HTTP chunk encoding (from the client side)
- Regional profiles support for Bravia TVs
- New renderer parameter (see 'TranscodedVideoFileSize', for Samsung/Philips TVs maybe)


so, in your Samsung.conf file and other ones, feel free to play with the TranscodedVideoFileSize parameter (-1, 0, 100000000000, whatever :p)


Any idea on how long to have it implemented for mac? I also noticed some posts with enhancements from ultratoto14 but still not available, it would be great to have them as well!
gustavoas
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:10 pm

Re: Has anyone tested other streaming clients with new PMS 1.11?

Postby karl123 » Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:53 pm

tomeko wrote:
shagrath wrote:so, in your Samsung.conf file and other ones, feel free to play with the TranscodedVideoFileSize parameter (-1, 0, 100000000000, whatever :p)

max value is 281474976710655 (2^48-1) :)

karl123 wrote:Did do some quick test and played with the new parameters, but problem on Philips Auread TV is NOT solved and the behaviour did not change.

Have you set TranscodedVideoFileSize=100000000000 or other value?


Yes, have tried several values:

TranscodedVideoFileSize=-1 Browsing on TV is not correct (as expected!)

Tried multiple other values e.g.:
TranscodedVideoFileSize=0
TranscodedVideoFileSize=1000
TranscodedVideoFileSize=100000
TranscodedVideoFileSize=1000000 (1MB)
TranscodedVideoFileSize=10000000000 (10GB)
TranscodedVideoFileSize=100000000000 (100GB)

Browsing on TV is OK, but all settings have same known problem on Philips Aurea TV
The file inside #transcode# folder (the Sinking of) starts transcoding and stops directly or after few seconds black screen.

shagrath wrote:Here's a new build, r363: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3217
I added the following:
- Support of HTTP chunk encoding (from the client side)

Question on "from the client side":
Does this mean that the HTTP chunk encoding is not fully implemented? Might that hints towards the problem?
If I read in
http://www.allegrosoft.com/downloads/UPNPDLNA_Whitepaperv2.pdf
Media Transport defines how content moves across the network. DLNA devices that send or receive any media content to/from the network must support HTTP 1.1 (including chunked transfer encoding, persistent connections, and pipelining) as the baseline transport mechanism. In addition, Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP) is available as an optional media transport protocol.

If the HTTP chunk encoding is fully implemented both at PMS server and client renderer TV, do we then still need the TranscodedVideoFileSize parameter?
(The TV is DLNA certified so it did pass the certification test including handling HTTP chunk encoding)
PS Sorry I am not a DLNA expert at all!
karl123
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 6:57 am

Re: Has anyone tested other streaming clients with new PMS 1.11?

Postby shagrath » Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:12 pm

karl123 wrote:Does this mean that the HTTP chunk encoding is not fully implemented? Might that hints towards the problem?
If I read in
http://www.allegrosoft.com/downloads/UPNPDLNA_Whitepaperv2.pdf
Media Transport defines how content moves across the network. DLNA devices that send or receive any media content to/from the network must support HTTP 1.1 (including chunked transfer encoding, persistent connections, and pipelining) as the baseline transport mechanism. In addition, Real-time Transport Protocol (RTP) is available as an optional media transport protocol.

If the HTTP chunk encoding is fully implemented both at PMS server and client renderer TV, do we then still need the TranscodedVideoFileSize parameter?
(The TV is DLNA certified so it did pass the certification test including handling HTTP chunk encoding)
PS Sorry I am not a DLNA expert at all!


by this I meant that if the client (your TV) is asking some stuff with parameters embedded in several http chunks, the server should be able to reassemble them, and response accordingly... still, the server will send the video file in one big bulk (several gigabytes for example).
Actually it's unlikely http chunk is involved, as any video asked by a client involve no parameters at all, it's like asking a jpeg file in a browser...
or maybe your receiver don't like big files, and the server needs to send it by chunk, but what about size/frequency/etc ?

best thing is to create the transcoded video file by hand (with help of command line found in debug.log) and stream samples of those files (no #transcode folder here)... maybe the TV does not like the format outputted by mencoder
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Alternative Media Renderers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests