How to get PS3MS to use Java 64 bit instead of 32 bit

Download and discuss official beta builds here

Re: How to get PS3MS to use Java 64 bit instead of 32 bit

Postby mazey » Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:05 am

i think this whole thread needs to be moved to general help and support so maybe ppl will notice my last post lol

feel free to delete this post and move thread meskibob.
PMS 1.90.2 Snapshot - Intel Celeron G1840 2.8Ghz / Asus Z97m-plus / Corsair Vengeance 8GB / Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
mazey
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:07 am

Re: How to get PS3MS to use Java 64 bit instead of 32 bit

Postby meskibob » Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:59 pm

The 64-bit JVM garbage collection issue is known (and has been for awhile) - viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4763&start=0&hilit=garbage#p21402
I've commented on your Google issue with a link to that thread.
If you have enough RAM it's not really an issue since it's not a leak, but if you need to free up RAM then just kill javaw.exe until the gc calls get (hopefully) updated.
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4787
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: How to get PS3MS to use Java 64 bit instead of 32 bit

Postby mazey » Mon Jan 24, 2011 2:53 am

meskibob wrote:The 64-bit JVM garbage collection issue is known (and has been for awhile) - viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4763&start=0&hilit=garbage#p21402
I've commented on your Google issue with a link to that thread.
If you have enough RAM it's not really an issue since it's not a leak, but if you need to free up RAM then just kill javaw.exe until the gc calls get (hopefully) updated.


thanks man i have 4gb of ram but i dont like to see something using 600mb of ram when its not even being used at the time. i will stick to 32bit for now until it gets fixed.
PMS 1.90.2 Snapshot - Intel Celeron G1840 2.8Ghz / Asus Z97m-plus / Corsair Vengeance 8GB / Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
mazey
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:07 am

Re: How to get PS3MS to use Java 64 bit instead of 32 bit

Postby lartomar2002 » Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:16 pm

noob question here ,what do you mean by"point it to the directory of the jre"?
Nothing left in my right brain, Nothing right in my left brain!
User avatar
lartomar2002
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:42 am

Re: How to get PS3MS to use Java 64 bit instead of 32 bit

Postby mazey » Sat Jan 29, 2011 9:08 am

lartomar2002 wrote:noob question here ,what do you mean by"point it to the directory of the jre"?


set the environmental value JAVA_HOME to the installation directory of ure java (value) C:\program files\java\jre6

google "how to set environmental values"
PMS 1.90.2 Snapshot - Intel Celeron G1840 2.8Ghz / Asus Z97m-plus / Corsair Vengeance 8GB / Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
mazey
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:07 am

Re: How to get PS3MS to use Java 64 bit instead of 32 bit

Postby lartomar2002 » Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:53 pm

thank for the suggestion to google "how to set environmental value". i did and that cleared alot up for me.
Nothing left in my right brain, Nothing right in my left brain!
User avatar
lartomar2002
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:42 am

Re: How to get PS3MS to use Java 64 bit instead of 32 bit

Postby HolyLiaison » Sat Mar 12, 2011 11:36 am

Here's how to get PMS to run as a 64bit process on Windows 7:

1) Right click Computer and go to Properties then select "Advanced system settings" in the left pane of that window.

2) It should open up on the Advanced tab, which is perfect that's what we want!

3) Down at the bottom you'll see a button that says "Environmental Variables..." click it.

4) Down at the bottom of this window should be "System variables" you'll want to add a new variable, so hit "New..."

5) Set the variable name as "JAVA_HOME" with out the quotes.

6) Set the variable value to your 64bit JRE install. The default install directory is C:\Program Files\Java\jre6

You're done!


Reload PMS. It should now be running in 64bit. This should be a similar process for Windows XP/Vista etc.
HolyLiaison
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 6:39 am

Re: How to get PS3MS to use Java 64 bit instead of 32 bit

Postby DPT » Sat Mar 12, 2011 5:57 pm

HolyLiaison wrote:Here's how to get PMS to run as a 64bit process on Windows 7:

1) Right click Computer and go to Properties then select "Advanced system settings" in the left pane of that window.

2) It should open up on the Advanced tab, which is perfect that's what we want!

3) Down at the bottom you'll see a button that says "Environmental Variables..." click it.

4) Down at the bottom of this window should be "System variables" you'll want to add a new variable, so hit "New..."

5) Set the variable name as "JAVA_HOME" with out the quotes.

6) Set the variable value to your 64bit JRE install. The default install directory is C:\Program Files\Java\jre6

You're done!

Reload PMS. It should now be running in 64bit. This should be a similar process for Windows XP/Vista etc.


cYes thats nice :D

But where can i edit the Xmx to 2048 ?

Thinking of this:
-classpath update.jar;pms.jar;plugins/;plugins/* -Xmx2048M -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -Djava.encoding=UTF-8 net.pms.PMS

Regards DPT and thanks
DPT
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 10:17 am

Re: How to get PS3MS to use Java 64 bit instead of 32 bit

Postby Coltaine79 » Sun Mar 13, 2011 7:41 pm

If you run it the way I described earlier in the thread you can change the XMX values to your liking without having to mess with environmental values...

But the 64-bit JVM is really unnecessary, everyone should really just stick with 32-bit.

And this is coming from someone who only watches 1080p MKVs always transcoded to MPEG2/Mencoder - so yeah I make very heavy use of the buffer and heapsize.
Coltaine79
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 9:00 pm

Re: How to get PS3MS to use Java 64 bit instead of 32 bit

Postby DPT » Sun Mar 13, 2011 9:14 pm

Okay thanks.

I made the java run 64 bit edit the XMX value to 2048 and changed the buffer to 1200 and now it runs greate with 5-1-1 settings :D

Regards DPT
DPT
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 10:17 am

Previous

Return to Beta Builds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests